• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

HIS 9800pro an XT?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DexterPunk

Registered
would just like to say a big HELLO! as im a newbie here..

i strapped on my overclocking goggles tonight and began tweaking my card.. as most of u would know.. the HIS "Ice-Q" R9800pro has the aftermarket arctic VGA cooler on it. i was originaly going to flash the card to try and get it to a 9800XT.. i was given some files which were named HIS.9800XT.Samsung.BIN or near enough.. and unfortunatly after flashing, artifacts were clearly visable in POST and windows.. i ended up reverting back to the old BIOS. But b4 i tryed all this, i took off my cooler to check the core and it was labled as a R360 core (which i understand is an XT core). Im not sure what else on my card is the same to an XT.. but i managed a decent overclock even for an XT.

default:
378MHz core
675MHz memory

o/c:
432MHz
742MHz

also went from 5650 3d marks, to 6235.

the default frequencies for the HIS XT is around 412MHz core and 730MHz memory... could it be possible i landed a rebadged 9800XT??? the card is running perfectly stable like this and can go higher again if i wanted. My other question is.. do i bother looking for another flash?? what are the benifits? and would i notice them? i heard (although im skeptical) that u can enable more pipelines to run when u flash a 9800pro to an XT..

any advice, questions, comments, flames are welcome.

really I don't think there is any benefit to that flash it just makes the default speeds that of the XT so overclocking is probably less of a hassle IMO.

Pipelines are the same on a 9800 Pro and an XT.

The main benefits you would gain, if it really is an XT core, are the on-die temperature sensor and the overdrive functionality.