• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help! nOOb XP Question!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ha_hA_HA!

Okay, sorry, i'm sure this is a stupid question, but I just bought a pc after using only Mac's for a long time, so I'm a Windows nOOb.

Every time I boot, I get 2 warning messages that go something like this:

RUNDLL

Error loading C:\Windows\sdklk32.dll

The specified module could not be found.

So, how do I get rid of this message? It all started after I removed some adware that had taken over IE.

Thanks in advance! :)

windows repair would probably be the easiest way to fix that. Just boot from your XP cd, when it gets all done with everything it does select repair, and then quick repair. (i might be missing a step there, or have something not quite right, i havent done this in a while, but you should be able to figure it out, its pretty simple. Basically it will scan for missing or dammaged files and replace as needed.

Okay, thanks for the advice guys.

Now, how do I startup from the install cd? :confused: :)

I can't find the info anywhere in Windows help. I also set my bios to check for CD before HD, but no go.

Sorry for the nOOb questions! :rolleyes:

Thats sounds like the remains of the adware, run msconfig and see if that file is listed in in the startup section, if it is make sure to uncheck it.

The adware sets itself to load when you start the computer, so when you deleted the adware file, it still left the command to try and load it. Since its not there, you get that error.

ian is right, look in MSconfig ( click start then run and type msconfig ) and look for any odd items that are loaded at startup.

Its also a good way to lower the your startup time, many things you might not use will load on startup, and with msconfig you can stop them.