Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

24V of Of A Power Supply

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-22-04, 07:48 AM Thread Starter   #1
jamesdait
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia

 
24V of Of A Power Supply


I was just wondering if there was a way to get 24 volts out of a 300W power supply. If not would it be possible by putting two power supplies together.
jamesdait is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-04, 10:47 AM   #2
Mr.Radar
Member

 
Mr.Radar's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.

 
I think you can get 24v by putting two PSU's 12v rails together, but I'm no expert.
Mr.Radar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-04, 11:49 AM   #3
Nebuchadnazzar
Member

 
Nebuchadnazzar's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada, Ottawa/Toronto

 
yea you can if the power supply has -12v, you hook the +12 and the -12v lines and you have 24 volt.
So it's like you replace the ground with -12v, i use this to run my comair rotron so i have the red wire hooked to +12v and the black(ground) wire hooked to the -12v.
Make sure you check the max watts on the -12v line because it's usually pretty low like 6 watts.

__________________
New: i7 920 D0 @ 4.19?, ASUS P6T regular, MCP655->MCR220-QP-Stack->Swiftech GTZ Ci7->T-line, Patriot Viper 6GB DDR3-1600 @ 1033, BFG GTX 275, Corsair TX750W, Auzentech X-plosion to 5.1 receiver.

Old: epox 9NDA3J w/ Venice 3200 @ 2500, Prime95 2 weeks stable, BFG 6800GT, 2x1gb OCZ platinum.

File Server: ASUS M2A-VM, AMD X2 4000+, Crucial 1GB DDR2-667, As many hard drives as i can cram in.
Nebuchadnazzar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-04, 08:42 PM   #4
nosilverman
Member

 
nosilverman's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, NY!

 
Adding 2 12 volt lines wont work, i think all the 12 volt lines are connected inside the psu anyway. Using the +12 and -12 should work though. How do you find the -12v line?
nosilverman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-04, 10:43 AM   #5
Nebuchadnazzar
Member

 
Nebuchadnazzar's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada, Ottawa/Toronto

 
The -12v line is only on the 20pin ATX connector and i think it's a blue wire, you could use a multimeter to check.

__________________
New: i7 920 D0 @ 4.19?, ASUS P6T regular, MCP655->MCR220-QP-Stack->Swiftech GTZ Ci7->T-line, Patriot Viper 6GB DDR3-1600 @ 1033, BFG GTX 275, Corsair TX750W, Auzentech X-plosion to 5.1 receiver.

Old: epox 9NDA3J w/ Venice 3200 @ 2500, Prime95 2 weeks stable, BFG 6800GT, 2x1gb OCZ platinum.

File Server: ASUS M2A-VM, AMD X2 4000+, Crucial 1GB DDR2-667, As many hard drives as i can cram in.
Nebuchadnazzar is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?