• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

8KNXP & 2.66B

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

chawks2

8knxp & 2.66b

First, I want to say I'm impressed with this forum and the wealth of knowledge exuding from it.

Second, I have been a big fan of Gigabyte products and recently moved from an 8IEXP to an 8KNXP (rev2). Unfortunately, I'm having a real tough time overclocking this board. It's mostly because I'm a newbie and do not completely understand what it takes to really push the board.

I have been able to push it to 2.9, but no further using EZ tune. I've seen a couple of guys on here, notably Falconnian, who has been able to push his 2.66 to low 3's.

How is this done/possible? I apologize for being an ignoramus, just not quite understanding the ratios/timings/power requirements etc...

Last edited:
hello, and let me start out with the fact that i have a 2.8b, not a 2.66. second off, i highy not recommend that you overclock in windows (aka ez tune). overclocking should be done through bios to achieve the best results possible.

now before i can help you, i need to kno:

1) memory- speed
2) cooling - what kind of cooling you are using.

after you give me that, we can move on. :D

Thx Falconnian for taking the time to help me out.

I have Corsair XMS 2700C2 - 333Mhz/2.7Gb/s - According to some posts I've read in news groups, they overclock well. I'm running them in dual channel mode and Sandra tells me their bandwidth is 3.2 Gb/s. Additionally, I'm running the "Full Thrust" mode in the C.I.A area of the bios, not really sure if this does something or if it's just horse poop.

As for cooling, I have the Thermaltake P4 Spark 7. Haven't delved into water cooling...yet... :D

ok simple. do what i did.

enter bios

press ctrl+f1, then goto frequecy/voltage

disable C.I.A.