• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

3 Hard Drives?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jcw122

I'm new to the physical make up of computers. My question is: What is the point of having 3 different hard drives? And what does this do to ur comp compared to having 1 or 2? Sry if this is a noob question, im just trying to understand what im dealing with so i can eventally build/mod my first comp.

The things you need to know about hard drives are:
They have limited storage space.
They have a limited speed. ~50Mb/s
And they are prone to failure once in a while.

People with multiple hard drives are typically looking to address these issues - ie. more storage space, data backup and improved performance/security through a raid configuration.

Not a stupid question if you haven't been following the storage crowd :) RAID stands for "Redundant Array of Independant Disks" and is a way of having multiple drives act as one as far as the computer is concerened. Through RAID, you can increase reliability (RAID level 1 increases reliability by having one drive mirror another), capacity (All RAIDs but level 1 have more capacity than any single drive in the array), or speed (RAID 0 takes two drives and splits data evenly between the two for theoretically 2x the data rate) by basically squishing multiple drives into one.

JigPu

Don't forget to point out that in RAID 0 if one drive of the RAID set fails you lose ALL data and have no chance of recoverey, hence many people using backup drives which I have yet to purchase.

JigPu said: