Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Droop-mod random bluescreens

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-28-04, 12:23 PM Thread Starter   #1
Private Joker
Member

 
Private Joker's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Europe

 
Droop-mod random bluescreens


I get random bluescreens "IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL" since I droop and Vdimm modded my P4C800E...
Has anyone experienced this?
Is it possible, that the mosfets overheat?

My V-rails are pretty stable..
12v drops to 11.92v
5v drops to ~5.1v
3.3v drops to 3.25v
With poti at ~10kOhm (enough) my Vcore drops from 1.568v to 1.536v.
Im pretty sure, that my mod is done well...

Last edited by Private Joker; 06-28-04 at 12:30 PM.
Private Joker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 06-28-04, 01:30 PM   #2
Orka
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
i plan on doing the vdroop mod this weekend. from what i've read 28KOhm is the recomended resistance. did you try it? what were the results?
Orka is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-04, 02:00 PM Thread Starter   #3
Private Joker
Member

 
Private Joker's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Europe

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orka
i plan on doing the vdroop mod this weekend. from what i've read 28KOhm is the recomended resistance. did you try it? what were the results?
Yes I tried several settings. I lowered it to 10kOhms, because a load voltage of 1.536v is enough for me. At 28kOhms it drops to 1.552v. At 40kOhms+ it almost doesnt drop at all.
Private Joker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-04, 02:38 PM   #4
flapperhead
Senior Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: wash dc area

 
what is droop mod? (ihave an abit) is it a mod to keep the vcore stable??
flapperhead is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-04, 03:20 PM Thread Starter   #5
Private Joker
Member

 
Private Joker's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Europe

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by flapperhead
what is droop mod? (ihave an abit) is it a mod to keep the vcore stable??
exactly
Private Joker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-04, 03:43 PM   #6
meionm
Member

 
meionm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Private Joker
Yes I tried several settings. I lowered it to 10kOhms, because a load voltage of 1.536v is enough for me. At 28kOhms it drops to 1.552v. At 40kOhms+ it almost doesnt drop at all.
I never seen anybody doing 10k, I usually saw people doing above 28k, you probably are getting blue scree beauce your cpu is out of juice, under load cpu requires certain amount of power to stay stable,

__________________
Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

HEATWARE
meionm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-04, 06:23 PM Thread Starter   #7
Private Joker
Member

 
Private Joker's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Europe

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by meionm
I never seen anybody doing 10k, I usually saw people doing above 28k, you probably are getting blue scree beauce your cpu is out of juice, under load cpu requires certain amount of power to stay stable,
Im not sure, because I dont know what effect the mod exactly has on the vcore....
My experience is:
If you lower the resistence, the vcore drops more.
When you raise it, the vcore becomes more stable.
The mod tricks the vcore regulator, by "telling" him that the CPU needs more juice...thats what I think.
Well, ive set it to 30kOhms now for testing purposes. I tell you if it helps.
Private Joker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-04, 08:39 PM   #8
meionm
Member

 
meionm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
the purpose of drop mod to keep the voltage as close the the voltage selected in bios, without drop mod let say your cpu will run stable at voltage 1.44 you have to select in bios 1.575 or more, with the drop mod running correctly you select in bios 1.55 or what ever is close to that, the drop mod not only takes care of voltage dropping but also voltage overvolting when idle, asus probe usually shows more vcore than the one selected in bios but with drop mod it's taken care of

__________________
Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

HEATWARE
meionm is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?