Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

5900se

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-04, 09:29 PM Thread Starter   #1
hrhrhrFOOT
Member



Join Date: Sep 2003

 
5900se


Well, today i went over to compusa to try my hand at getting a 6800gt for 280 dollars with the 30% of pny cards coupon to no avail. It wasn't that they wouldn't accept it--they never even got any geforce 6800 cards at all, and by the time they would get it, the coupon would expire

However, this still leaves the 5900se selling for a very nice price of 153.99. Should i buy it? I mean, it doesn't seem bad for the price, and it's definitely the lowest i've seen so far. I can always sell it later so my loss in money wont be too large. What do you guys think? Using an old tnt2 isn't that great...i'm pretty impressed on how long this poor thing's been running, but i figure it's time to give her some rest :P

__________________
A64-3000 C0 @2407.1 mhz
Kingston Valueram Hynix @ 260mhz 2.5-4-4-7
350w turbolink psu
Gigabyte K8N pro nf3-150
PNY 5900SE@460/975 w/RL Bios
heat
hrhrhrFOOT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 01:24 AM   #2
MisterEd
Member

 
MisterEd's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Alabama

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrhrhrFOOT
Well, today i went over to compusa to try my hand at getting a 6800gt for 280 dollars with the 30% of pny cards coupon to no avail. It wasn't that they wouldn't accept it--they never even got any geforce 6800 cards at all, and by the time they would get it, the coupon would expire
A few months ago I went to Office Max to get a CD/RW that was free after a mail-in rebate. The rebate was only good for that week. It was out of stock but they let me pay for it then to get the rebate. The had some in the following week.

CompUSA on the phone said I could do the same thing and pay for it now to get the rebate. The only problem is would one come in time to get the UPC needed to mail in the rebate before the clock ran out. Normally you have only a few weeks to do so. I will go in Friday or Saturday to check on this in person. You might want to check on this yourself. Make sure they will make good on the rebate if it takes too long to get one. I have heard that some managers will do this if you are persistent.

__________________
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX-8350 | Corsair H60 Cooler | GSkill RipjawsX (2x4GB) | ASUS GeForce GTX 560 | WD Caviar Blue 1TB | Seagate 750GB | ASUS 24X DVD/RW| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
ASUS M4N82 Deluxe | AMD Phenom II X4 960T | Corsair XMS2(2x2GB) | PNY GeForce GTS 250 (1GB) | Seagate 300GB | Memorex 20X DVD/RW | Windows 7 Home Premium
MisterEd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 08:32 AM Thread Starter   #3
hrhrhrFOOT
Member



Join Date: Sep 2003

 
The coupon expires on july 3-tomorrow.
Not only that, but they said they couldn't allow me to prepay for the card and use the coupon; evidently their headquarters sent out a message to all compusas to not allow people to preorder with the coupon

__________________
A64-3000 C0 @2407.1 mhz
Kingston Valueram Hynix @ 260mhz 2.5-4-4-7
350w turbolink psu
Gigabyte K8N pro nf3-150
PNY 5900SE@460/975 w/RL Bios
heat
hrhrhrFOOT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 08:55 AM   #4
Nebulous
Seņor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
Thos bastages! They're supposed to honor the coupon and let you prepay for the item. Sort of like a raincheck when they advertise an item at a certain price, but it's sold out and they're restocking it. I hate those bums

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win7 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 10:42 AM Thread Starter   #5
hrhrhrFOOT
Member



Join Date: Sep 2003

 
it sure aint fair but what can i do

__________________
A64-3000 C0 @2407.1 mhz
Kingston Valueram Hynix @ 260mhz 2.5-4-4-7
350w turbolink psu
Gigabyte K8N pro nf3-150
PNY 5900SE@460/975 w/RL Bios
heat
hrhrhrFOOT is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?