Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

I need a new charger for a older laptop, reccomendations?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-04, 09:56 PM Thread Starter   #1
TommyHolly
Member

 
TommyHolly's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago

 
I need a new charger for a older laptop, reccomendations?


OK, my Girlfriend's laptop is an old HP 400Mhz. For no reason the other day, the power pack (NOT THE BATTERIES, they are fine and brand new), but the power pack that plugs into the wall no longer works. I took the thing apart to test it with a volt meter. Power is definately going into it, but not out. (Beleive me I got shocked fiding that out...ugh). The power pack is done and I'm going to need a new one.

Because you guys know all about anything PC related I fiure I ask you. She looked up prices for a new universal charger and found one from Best Buy for $79.99. Because power packs are universal and can be found anywhere I'm sure much cheaper than that, where should I look?

Here is the specs of it:
1. Power Pack is labeled HP F1454A AC/DC Adapter
2. Input: 100-240V-1.3A 50/60Hz
3. Output: 19V-3.16A
4. S/N 4022007064002301
5. It has a standard plug into the laptop that you would see on a small keyboard, Atari 2600, or a small toy. (It does not have a special shape like a Dell power plug)

As you can see, it basically takes a 120V wall socket and turns it into 19V. You can find these things at a Wallmart for like $15 but I don't think that the Amps would match because when you go cheap, it does not label the outputs. Can anyone post a link where I could find a cheap replacement please.

THANKS!

__________________
sig deleted by muddocktor-take it up with the Admins
TommyHolly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 12:10 AM   #3
Dubbin1
Member

 
Dubbin1's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio

 
The reason they cost so much is because they are regulated power supplies. Whatever you do, dont skimp on a power supply.

__________________
System Specs
Windows XP Pro (sp1)
Athlon XP 2500+ Barton
Thermalright SP97 HS
Abit NF7-S rev 2.0
2 - Maxtor 80gig 8meg cache
1 - Maxtor 320 gig sata
512meg PC2700
GForce 6600
Klipsch 5.1
Antec P160 Case
Dubbin1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 03:40 AM Thread Starter   #4
TommyHolly
Member

 
TommyHolly's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago

 
I found that same one at www.pricewatch.com kct2

I think I'm going to get that one for $33 shipped. I have to say, pricewatch almost always has people willing to sell stuff way, waaaaay cheaper than NewEgg or TigerDirect.

__________________
sig deleted by muddocktor-take it up with the Admins
TommyHolly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 04:17 AM   #5
Stedeman
The Half Asleep Member

 
Stedeman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lewiston Maine

 
Tommy, if you don't mind eBay it looks like you can get it for $20-25 shipped

__________________
My HEATWARE My eBay
Stedeman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 12:12 PM Thread Starter   #6
TommyHolly
Member

 
TommyHolly's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago

 
I have never bought anything off of E-Bay yet. I have heard too many horror stories and if something goes wrong, there is little to no chance I'll get my money back.

Thanks for the effort of looking on there though, I appreciate it. For a difference of $10, I'll think I will stick with Pricewatch.

__________________
sig deleted by muddocktor-take it up with the Admins
TommyHolly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 08:57 PM   #7
BUBBLE
Member

 
BUBBLE's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Somewhere I belong

 
Smile


Targus brand is the best to go when problems occur likes that cause they have various power aapters. BTW I don't like the idea of using a some other crap on your laptop even though they mention they give the correct ones it is not good idea iether. You've mention power is coming to the unit then most probably what has happen is the power cord connecting to the computer side has been internatlly damaged whixh is hapenning to most of the users. So the best thing is to repalce that wire. Well anyway it seems like you've already taken the decision to change it but i'd say don't throw the old one just give a try it's worth to be treat like that way for one more time.
BUBBLE is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?