Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

computer wont start

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-04, 10:57 PM Thread Starter   #1
Zatrix
Member

 
Zatrix's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer

 
computer wont start


my old computer wont start. whenever i start it it says it error loading something plz enter boot disk. i dont have a boot disk. i even tried putting the cd in first and starting it and it never even allows me to format. and when i finally did get it to do that it said couldn;t detect hardrive. i even cleared the cmos by taking the battery out. that didn't work either.

now im REALLY scared about installing my new mobo and processor in my new comp. what happens if that happens again....?

how should i install my mobo again?

step by step
Zatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-01-04, 11:15 PM   #2
speed bump
Member

 
speed bump's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montana tech Butte mt.

 
What I think it sounds like is your Cd drive is not configured to be your main boot device. So when you boot up it doesn't see your CD. try going into the bios and setting the primary boot device to the Cd rom drive you are using.

Also try using auto detect hard disks while in the bios to make sure your HD was properly detected by your Mobo.

__________________
Big changes coming: Intel e4300, DFI Blood iron, Crucial DDR2-8500, ATI x859xt, MCW-6002>Ehiem 1250>Bip3 with 3 nidec beta Vs, Sunbeam Zorro, Corsair 650 watter
Stuff I should be using but don't: Finally got around to running that stuff.

Ever run a benchmark? support our forums by posting it in the 3dmark team and system benchmarking team sections.
My heatware

Silence may be golden but performance is platinum
speed bump is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 08:13 AM   #3
bradleyland
Registered



Join Date: May 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zatrix
my old computer wont start. whenever i start it it says it error loading something plz enter boot disk. i dont have a boot disk. i even tried putting the cd in first and starting it and it never even allows me to format. and when i finally did get it to do that it said couldn;t detect hardrive. i even cleared the cmos by taking the battery out. that didn't work either.

now im REALLY scared about installing my new mobo and processor in my new comp. what happens if that happens again....?

how should i install my mobo again?

step by step
Ok, a couple of things. Quoting error messages ambiguously makes it difficult for anyone to diagnose your problem, so if you really want to solve the issue, you should take the time to write down the error message in full and type it in here. That sounded kind of harsh, but I don't mean it to be I want to help.

In this case, the error message you're quoting is a one-of-a-kind, so it's ok. Your computer is telling you that it can't find the primary boot device.

When your computer starts, it looks for files that load an OS. The location it searches for these files is determined by a BIOS setting (looks something like this). Normally, your computer boots from the hard drive that contains the operating system. If that drive fails, then the system can't read it and there's no more boot disk, so you get the error message.

The highest likelyhood is that your hard drive just failed. It happens. Especially with hard drives becoming cheaper and cheaper. Fortunately, most hardware failures are isolated to the device that fails. In other words, a failed hard drive is not going to kill your motherboard, unless something really catastrophic happens... but your chances of that happening are very, very, very slim. The only device failure that commonly takes out other componenets is the power supply.

The question is, why did the hard drive fail. How old was it? If it was older than three years, then it was probably just a disk falure (bearing seized, disc surface structure failure, etc). The other thing that can produce failures is a malfunctioning power supply. If your power supply is supplying too much voltage, then it can kill components... however, a hard drive isn't the most sensitive device in the computer, and there are other parts that normally fail first.

I'd say you're safe to go ahead and install your new components. Just order a new hard drive and install Windows. In order to do this, you'll need to go into your BIOS on start up and change the boot sequence so that it looks for the CD-ROM first. Change the setting, save, and exit. Then you should be good to go. When you're completely finished installing Windows, change the boot settings so that C: or IDE-0 is the first boot device. This will speed up the boot process a little bit

Hope this helps you out.
bradleyland is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 09:01 AM   #4
Leviathan41

 
Leviathan41's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: @Home, Folding

 
I would fool around a little and try to figure out exactly what the problem is before I went out and bought a new hard drive. Make sure your boot order is set correctly like speed bump said. Do you have another system you can put the HD in to make sure it is indeed the hard drive. It does sound like a bad HD but I would be 100% sure before I purchased a new one. Good Luck!
Leviathan41 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 09:57 AM Thread Starter   #5
Zatrix
Member

 
Zatrix's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer

 
i hate bios. i wish they was a better way to do it
Zatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 12:16 PM   #6
bradleyland
Registered



Join Date: May 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zatrix
i hate bios. i wish they was a better way to do it
Sorry bud, BIOS is it. The only easier option is to take it to a repair shop.
bradleyland is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 12:22 PM   #7
Drec
Member

 
Drec's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leviathan41
I would fool around a little and try to figure out exactly what the problem is before I went out and bought a new hard drive. Make sure your boot order is set correctly like speed bump said. Do you have another system you can put the HD in to make sure it is indeed the hard drive. It does sound like a bad HD but I would be 100% sure before I purchased a new one. Good Luck!
Agreed, adn Zatrix..if you dont know what your doing..dont do it. take the parts you purchased to a shop and let them install it and see if your hard drive works or not...it would be better then you trying to install it and end up frying somthing.
Drec is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-02-04, 04:01 PM   #8
CPL.Luke
Member



Join Date: Mar 2004

 
did the computer get jard at all recently because youll get that message if it came unplugged in any way. be it the ide cable or the power cord.

I had this happen to me ounce it was the first time I had an error like that before and it took me two days to figure out what happened...
CPL.Luke is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?