• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Source of instability?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Goodberry

Registered
I have been overclocking my XP 3200+. I tried a CPU external frequency of 218, but the computer was crashy. It still crashed rather a lot at 214 MhZ.

Both times it auto-restarted, I went into the BIOS to check the CPU temps, and they never moved from 42 C. It was the same temp on 218, 214 and non-overclocked.

If it isn't a CPU overheat causing the instability, what could it be? I'm currently thinking RAM, althought I would have expected corsair to be able to overclock by a bit more than 14 MhZ...

Maybe some more info is in order; I'm not too good at skimming my entire spec off the top of my head as I bought it as a ready made system and upgraded it.

The RAM timings are Active Precharge Delay 8; RAS > CAS 3; RAS precharge delay 3; CAS latency 2.5

Not entirely sure if it affects overclockability but my PSU is a bog-standard 360 W PSU. I got the impression that the deluxe A7N8X was a reasonably good overclocking board.

*More info* : The computer was crashing and the Vcore was at 1.75 V, would raising this possibly help? I am just a leeetle bit nervous of putting too much voltage through my chip. Also, the RAM voltage is at the default minimum which I think is 1.6 V.

Yes that is very true. Please excuse my sudden memory error :)

I am teh absent minded professor.

Up you cpu, ram and chipset voltages a notch. See if you have a bad heatsink mount. Chuck on a ram divider to eliminate that variable

Or just accept hat you have sub-par overclocker.

(but really 2.3 isnt to bad)

I used to own ASUS A7N8X, and it would get limited by fsb a little above 200, so maybe you're pretty much hitting the limit at 217. I think you should lower it down to 210 and see if it'll help.