• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

2.8e running @ 56C....GOOD OR BAD??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

montiac

I am new to the Intel scene having always run AMD rigs and I am having some concerns with the 2.8e that I just bought. Right out of the box it idle at 54-56 degrees C ?? Is this normal. I have read so many different things that I am not sure what is right. All I know is that it runs very good!! I also have it in an Albatron 865PEProII board and cannot even raise the FSB 5Mhz to test an overclock. It will not post. I also cannot find a way to change the multiplier. I tried messing with RAM timing but had to clear the CMOS!! I have sufficient power and cooling so I know its not anything like that but I must be missing something??
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

that temp looks a bit high. I dont have a prescott but I heard they do run a bit warmer then the older P4s... but still 56C is pushing it. What cooling do you have? Stock?

Yeah, that sounds a little too high for default speed. Something is wrong. Maybe pull the heatsink off and reapply thermal paste and reinstall it. You need good cooling with the Prescotts.

montiac, Depending on the airflow in your case you will post these temps. My 2.8 when first installed posted idle temps of 60C and over 70C under a load.

If you are going to cool a prescott with air and intend on overclocking you will need to make mods to your case to cool it

I made one simple mod(see my signature) were I added a duct to my sidecover and a fan was mounted inside this duct just for good measure. This one mod alone has lowered my temps to 42c at idle and 55C under an extreme load (only 48C when gaming). This temps are recorded with the stock HSF at an overclock of 3.6 which I would not think of attempting before the mod