Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

OCZ PowerStream 420w help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-04, 10:49 AM Thread Starter   #1
bobmanfoo
Disabled



Join Date: Apr 2004

 
OCZ PowerStream 420w help


well i just got this psu, it looks great and has good currents: +3.3V@28A, +5V@30A, +12V@30A, has shielded dedicated molexs for hdd and vga too , anyway i was wondering what i should set the rails to since it has adjustable rails, i currently have it at 3.36V, 5.10V, 12.28V. are these rails ok? should i lower them to spec or go higher? thanks for the input
bobmanfoo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-04, 01:56 PM   #2
ZachM
Member

 
ZachM's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Middle of Cow Country (Central Ok)

 
You need to use a digital multimeter to adjust the rails. Do adjustments while the CPU is under load. Run Prime95, Seti, Folding, ect. With my Antec True Control I have my rails overvolted by .05v. I do that so my rails don't dip down under spec.

__________________
Heatware
ZachM is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-04, 03:45 PM Thread Starter   #3
bobmanfoo
Disabled



Join Date: Apr 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZachM
You need to use a digital multimeter to adjust the rails. Do adjustments while the CPU is under load. Run Prime95, Seti, Folding, ect. With my Antec True Control I have my rails overvolted by .05v. I do that so my rails don't dip down under spec.
well how much do they run? i know i won't add too much or to little because each rail has its own led. red if its above 5%, yellow if its below 5%, and green when its in between. but i was wondering if my rails posted in the original post are ok, or are they too high or not high enough. thnaks
bobmanfoo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-04, 04:16 PM   #4
ZachM
Member

 
ZachM's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Middle of Cow Country (Central Ok)

 
The 12v seem a little high, but the motherboard sensors are inaccuate. My sensors are about .1v off depending on the rail. It under reads all of them. So I say turn down the 12v line a little bit. Try 12.10v. Remember, do it while the CPU is at load.

Multimeters can run from $20 to $100s. Radio Shack has some cheap ones. I wonder how accurate they are though.

__________________
Heatware
ZachM is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-04, 04:30 PM Thread Starter   #5
bobmanfoo
Disabled



Join Date: Apr 2004

 
thanks, so what is a safe percentage over spec?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZachM
The 12v seem a little high, but the motherboard sensors are inaccuate. My sensors are about .1v off depending on the rail. It under reads all of them. So I say turn down the 12v line a little bit. Try 12.10v. Remember, do it while the CPU is at load.

Multimeters can run from $20 to $100s. Radio Shack has some cheap ones. I wonder how accurate they are though.
bobmanfoo is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?