Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

k6 2 question..

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-04, 06:39 PM Thread Starter   #1
Drec
Member

 
Drec's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
k6 2 question..


i just got back from the thrift store picked up a system..had no clue what it was but for $20 i couldent pass it up. cpuz says its a k6-2, 500MHz..running at 3volts..i thought cpuz was misreading but the cpu database on overclockers.com shows everyone running them with 2-3Vs the heatsink on this thing is smaller then the heatsink on my NB for crying out loud and its got like a 40mm fan...

how is this thing not putting out more heat then my athlon xp?
Drec is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-04, 07:31 PM   #2
theflyingrat
Member

 
theflyingrat's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: St. Paul, MN, USA

10 Year Badge
 
It's high voltage, but low current. Voltage isn't the only story to heat production....

__________________
ASUS P8Z68-V LX ; Core i7-3770K @ 4.3GHz ; 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1600 ; ZeroTherm ZT-10D ; Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 ; Samsung 830 256GB + 840 EVO 250GB ; Rosewill HIVE-550 ; Windows 7 Ultimate

2005 Kawasaki Z750S | 2011 Kawasaki ZX-6R | 2008 Yamaha WR250X
theflyingrat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-04, 07:48 PM   #3
repo man11
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Also, I think you have read the core voltage incorrectly. A K6-2 500 should have core voltage at either 2.2 or 2.4 stock. If you remove the heatsink, the default core voltage is stamped on the cap, along with the speed.
I've seen them survive at 2.8 volts.

__________________
Not really a repo man.
repo man11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-04, 08:21 PM   #4
JDXNC
Member

 
JDXNC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Québec, Canada Èh?

10 Year Badge
 
.25 micron process is why it doesn't put out that much heat with thatg much voltage. I'm sure CPU-Z is missreading though. K6-2's don't like much more than 2.7v and then you need to beef up the cooling or they won't survive. 2.2 or 2.4 is the stock voltage.

__________________

Desktop: AMD Phenom 9550 @ 2.6Ghz @ 1.25v
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 | OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 4 X 1GB
G.Skill Phoenix 60GB SSD
| Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Radeon HD 3650 512MB | Dual 19" LCD's

Heatware
JDXNC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-04, 09:23 PM   #5
repo man11
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
I didn't notice that you were using CPU-Z the first time I read your post (I read it too quickly). I'm pretty certain it isn't reading the core voltage correctly. It probably isn't able to with hardware that old. Core voltage being set with jumpers rather than in the CMOS settings may be why.

But Intel P55 (such as the 233 MMX) had 2.8 Vcore, and ran quite cool. It isn't unusual to find these CPUs passively cooled from the factory. Take a look at the specs here, http://www.sandpile.org/impl/p55.htm

__________________
Not really a repo man.
repo man11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-04, 10:27 PM   #6
BaronVonWalz
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
its a 3.3V I/O, whatever that means, I do know that the core voltage is different though
BaronVonWalz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-04, 10:33 PM   #7
JDXNC
Member

 
JDXNC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Québec, Canada Èh?

10 Year Badge
 
They are all 3.3 In/Out voltage, the core voltage is written on the IHS as well, it will be either 2.2 or 2.4, just run it at 2.4 and it will work fine.

__________________

Desktop: AMD Phenom 9550 @ 2.6Ghz @ 1.25v
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 | OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 4 X 1GB
G.Skill Phoenix 60GB SSD
| Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Radeon HD 3650 512MB | Dual 19" LCD's

Heatware
JDXNC is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?