• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Athlon 1400 on Chaintech 7AJA-2 crashes

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Akareyon

Registered
First: Greetynx! This is my first post on this forum. I'm 20 years old and I live in Germany (a great excuse for my bad English ;-)
And I'm a total beginner (a great axcuse for my silly question).

I recently thought it was a good idea to buy the Athlon 1400 in a bundle with the Chaintech 7AJA-2/100 KT 133. After days of fun with the uDMA cable, a new 40G Seagate HD, the Hercules Prophet 4500 (Kyro II), my first DVD plus the stuff I kept from my old Cyrix/IBM 333 (CD-Rec, Soundcard etc) things started quite well, except for the CONSTANT freezing of the mouse cursor after roughly 1 to 15 minutes of work. No more Ctrl-Alt-Del, nothing. When playing an MP3, the soundcard hooked on one single frame and played it incessantly. Replacing the 235 Watts power supply with a 350 Watts PS wouldn't help, until I found out that the 3.3 Volts CPU core voltage need exactly 15 Ampere to run properly - both power supplies had only 14 Ampère, which explained a lot. Another power supply later (300 Watts, 3.3 Volts - 16 A), things worked quite well, the freezing stopped and never occured again. I installed all the stuff I regularily need (HalfLife and the like) and marvelled at the 75 fps on Jumbot with 19 CPU controlled opponent bots. Boy, what a noise!