Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Quick, What is the BEST Socket 754 mobo out?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-18-04, 06:57 PM Thread Starter   #1
GigaHertzAddict
Member

 
GigaHertzAddict's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York City

 
Quick, What is the BEST Socket 754 mobo out?


I need to get the BEST and FASTEST Socket 754 mobo WITH PCI and AGP clock locks. I'm selling my Abit KV8 to a friend because it doesn't have locks and is limiting my overclock. Thanks!!
GigaHertzAddict is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-04, 07:26 PM   #2
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
The EPOX board based on the nFroce3 250GB chipset seems to be the favorite right now

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-04, 08:22 PM   #3
Hardin
Member

 
Hardin's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sumter, South Carolina

10 Year Badge
 
This one has PCI/AGP lock and it is cheap. I'm planning on buying one soon.
Hardin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-04, 08:31 PM Thread Starter   #4
GigaHertzAddict
Member

 
GigaHertzAddict's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York City

 
EPOX? really? I'd think Asus would be the best? or no?

The problem with that abit board from what I read was that there are 2 versions. 1.0 and 1.1 The 1.0 doesn't support the PCI/AGP locks, but the 1.1 does. So when you order the board and you get a 1.0 you're screwed, so you're taking a chance. If anyone has this board, please verify this.
GigaHertzAddict is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-04, 08:37 PM   #5
deception``
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
1. The Asus board just came out; rather, it has just appeared on newegg and zipzoomfly and at the moment we are unaware of it's capabilities in terms of stability and overclockability but I am sure this will change in the near future.

2. The EpoX board is in fact a new favorite for it's overclockability either rivals or excels above that of the MSI K8n Neo Platinum; unfortunately, this EpoX boards do not support mobile cpu's as of yet so that may change your decision.

3. The problem with the Abit KV8 series was changed with a bios update; it is a fully functional board and is a viable alternative to the NF3 250gb line of boards. If you do decide to go Abit know that they have chosen to abstain from the Nforce3 chipset for they feel that it too "unstable" for their likings. However, there are plenty of other manufacturers that can provide you with a great NVIDIA solution.

The choice is yours....

deception``
deception`` is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-04, 08:43 PM Thread Starter   #6
GigaHertzAddict
Member

 
GigaHertzAddict's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York City

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by deception``
1. The Asus board just came out; rather, it has just appeared on newegg and zipzoomfly and at the moment we are unaware of it's capabilities in terms of stability and overclockability but I am sure this will change in the near future.

2. The EpoX board is in fact a new favorite for it's overclockability either rivals or excels above that of the MSI K8n Neo Platinum; unfortunately, this EpoX boards do not support mobile cpu's as of yet so that may change your decision.

3. The problem with the Abit KV8 series was changed with a bios update; it is a fully functional board and is a viable alternative to the NF3 250gb line of boards. If you do decide to go Abit know that they have chosen to abstain from the Nforce3 chipset for they feel that it too "unstable" for their likings. However, there are plenty of other manufacturers that can provide you with a great NVIDIA solution.

The choice is yours....

deception``
So you're saying that whether I get version 1.0 or 1.1 the PCI/AGP locks will work? Also why is abit saying the nvidia is unstable? does it hold merit? And it it true that the VIA is faster and better?
GigaHertzAddict is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-04, 08:48 PM   #7
NiTrO bOiE
Member

 
NiTrO bOiE's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
The Asus board has some problems. (cool and quiet needs to be enabled to overclock, only 2.7volts on the memory) But a new BIOS should be able to fix it.

__________________
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ DTR @ 2750
MB:
DFI Lanparty UT 250GB

Memory: 2x 1GB G.Skill PC3200

Video:
Radeon X800XT-PE w/ Maze 4 GPU

Hard Drives:
36GB Raptor (Main) 160GB Hitachi (Storage)

Optical Storage:
44x CD, 8x DVD-RW

Sound:
Audigy 2 ZS
Case & Power: Black Chieftec FT w/ Window, Antec TP 430
Watercooled WW, Pro Core (2) 120mm Deltas, Hydor L20
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
NiTrO bOiE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-04, 08:59 PM   #8
gunman
Registered

 
gunman's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004

 
just go with the J version of the Epox you can't beat that good of a mobo for 99 dollars with a 250gb chipset
gunman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-04, 09:16 PM Thread Starter   #9
GigaHertzAddict
Member

 
GigaHertzAddict's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York City

 
Thanks guys, I'd still like to hear from someone who that the abit board..
GigaHertzAddict is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-18-04, 09:32 PM   #10
Jess1313
Member

 
Jess1313's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The DFI AMD Forum......

 
I have the ABIT board, If you order from NEWEGG you should get a 1.1 board. I have had both boards 1.0 & 1.1 & both did lock the AGP/PCI. Some off the very first boards did not lock but if you RMAed it to ABIT they fixed it.

For the last two weeks I have not seen anybody get a 1.0 board from NEWEGG, they all have been 1.1 boards. Just dont buy a refurb, get a new one.

The board is a sweat running board.

I have heard this about the 250gb chipsets, I cant say anything that would prove this.

There is alot of the EPOX boards out there that are showing very good results.

If I where going to buy a 250gb board the epox is the one I would buy.

But the VIA ABIT board has proven to be very fast & stable for me ( I like it all around). The sata raid works flawless on this board also.

It like the OCZ EB ram also.

__________________
Folding for Team 32

*Heat*
Jess1313 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-04, 01:35 PM Thread Starter   #11
GigaHertzAddict
Member

 
GigaHertzAddict's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York City

 
Ok, I just ordered the Abit board from newegg, I hope I get a v1.1 and I'll let you know how it overclocks. thanks again
GigaHertzAddict is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-04, 04:08 PM   #12
kulki
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: College Park, Maryland

 
Whats wrong with MSI 8KN Neo Platinum? It also has the 250 GB chipset and supports mobiles.
kulki is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-19-04, 04:12 PM   #13
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
There were a lot of people having quality issues with these boards, like blown caps, and not allways supported mobiles

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?