• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can really understand this..

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PARR

Registered
I'm new to cooling my PC, my stock heatsink and fan for my XP2800 Barton used to run 50C idle, 60C load..

I bought a new Coolermaster Jet 7+ and at lowest speed it idles at 50C and at full speed (Which is almost twice the sound of my stock cooler) it idles 45C..

The only differece I have noticed is that when under heavy load my PC doesnt rise is temp quite as much...

Now me myself am after something that when my PC is under full load will go to around 40-45C without it sounding like I have a 747 taking off in my PC.. (I don't mind a bit of sound, but some of these fans making +60dba is just too loud)

Is this possible, or am I just a high hoper ? :confused:

different heatsink/fan setups produce different results... with a large copper heatsink like Thermalright makes you can add just about any fan onto it... and choose how powerful you want it to be... thus also choosing how loud it will be... note: larger fans can move more air then smaller fans at slower rate of spin (thus making them quieter).

What are you case/ambiant temps? Those have a lot to do with it. The lower your case temps, the lower your cpu temps. 40-45C load temps can be done on air, but it's going to take a bit of time and money to make it quiet. Check out thermalrights line-up, they are well respected here. Also might look at the upcoming XP-120, we *hope* it'll be out soon, and use a 120mm fan. (ie- big and quiet) Does your board support the 4-bolt heatsink mounting system? Or just cpu clips? That will also limit your choice of heatsinks.

On the case temp end, remove the fan grids from the case and make sure your wiring and cables are out of the air paths..