• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD64 2800+ @ 2475MHz 1.60v Stock cooling

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

GigaHertzAddict

I'm new to this AMD 64 world, so I figured I share my results with you guy(and girls) to see if this is expected or above average. I have a AMD 64 2800+ newcastle core 512k. I'm running it at 2475MHz(9x275) with 1080MHz bus speed. With 1.60v using stock cooling. I'm running it on a Abit KV8 PRO.
I'm getting a load temp of 67C, but it's 100% stable in prime 95. As we all know abit motherboards report high temps always, is this the case with AMD motherboards too? and is it running to hot? What do you guys think? I can probably hit 2.6GHz with a aftermarket cooler or something. Also, what the SAFE max I can go on the voltage? thanks for you help.

If 67 is your real temp. I'd back it off right now or get better cooling. 1.65 is the max voltage that AMD says, but some people are running up to 2 volts. They are on extreme cooling though.

NiTrO bOiE said:
If 67 is your real temp. I'd back it off right now or get better cooling. 1.65 is the max voltage that AMD says, but some people are running up to 2 volts. They are on extreme cooling though.

well this is the temp the abit motherboard is showing, how do I know if it's the REAL REAL temp? The heatsink feels very warm, but not burning hot.

Thats a real nice overclock. My 2800 maxes out at like 9x257 or so. But thats with me already pushing like 1.8 volts or more into it.

if your cpu temp is any where near or above 55C, and your heatsink isnt hot, i think you should have to remount your heatsink to make sure its on right.