Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

What is the best a64 mobo?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-04, 06:47 PM Thread Starter   #1
jlee24219
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
What is the best a64 mobo?


I am using the chaintech vnf3-250 and it is evidently dying on me or something, so if i can't diagnos the problem that what would be a good board to get that willl last and be stable. I would like to have agp/pci locks and the board be very stable. Any suggestions?

thanks.
jlee24219 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-04, 07:00 PM   #2
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
Right now the epox nf3 250GB is the best. soon the DFI will be released. and from watching how the "Beta" of it overclocks, I think it will be the next best board to overclock with

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-04, 07:05 PM   #3
dreIU
Member

 
dreIU's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bloomington, IN

 
I agree with the epox, but it is still nowhere to be found... man I hate waiting. anybody has any clue where I could get it from? all my sources are out.
dreIU is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-04, 07:18 PM   #4
hitechjb1
Senior Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
Currently, there is no 1 or 2 standout board for A64 (754) like in the case of Nforce2.

E.g. the EPOX 8KDA3+ does not have native support for the IEEE 1394 (firewire), cannot understand why, and for some people it is a no go.

These are what many people are using:
- Epox 8KDA3+/J (nVidia nForce3-250Gb)
- Abit KV8 PRO Revision 1.1 (VIA K8T800 PRO)
- MSI K8N Neo Platinum (nVidia nForce3-250Gb)
- Chaintech VNF3-250 (nVidia nForce3-250)
- Gigabyte K8NSNXP (nVidia nForce3-250Gb)

Exemplary A64 systems: setups, results and experiences (post 63)

__________________

Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
A64 Overclocking Result Collection
Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
- DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
- ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
- ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
- Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display

Last edited by hitechjb1; 07-31-04 at 07:27 PM.
hitechjb1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-04, 07:19 PM Thread Starter   #5
jlee24219
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreIU
I agree with the epox, but it is still nowhere to be found... man I hate waiting. anybody has any clue where I could get it from? all my sources are out.
newegg has them
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...P=OTC-d3alt1me
jlee24219 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-04, 07:21 PM   #6
Maxvla
Senior Member

 
Maxvla's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: OKC

 
i think he meant the 8kda3j

__________________
The Black Hole
Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
Gigabyte P55M-UD2
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX460 1GB
Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
Corsair HX850W PSU
NEC DVD-RW
Maxvla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-04, 07:32 PM   #7
dreIU
Member

 
dreIU's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bloomington, IN

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitechjb1
Currently, there is no 1 or 2 standout board for A64 (754) like in the case of Nforce2.

E.g. the EPOX 8KDA3+ does not have native support for the IEEE 1394 (firewire), cannot understand why, and for some people it is a no go.

These are what many people are using:
- Epox 8KDA3+/J (nVidia nForce3-250Gb)
- Abit KV8 PRO Revision 1.1 (VIA K8T800 PRO)
- MSI K8N Neo Platinum (nVidia nForce3-250Gb)
- Chaintech VNF3-250 (nVidia nForce3-250)
- Gigabyte K8NSNXP (nVidia nForce3-250Gb)

Exemplary A64 systems: setups, results and experiences (post 63)
Well, for me, just because it does not have support for IEEE 1394, it does not mean it is a no go... I have no use for that, but it may be a big deal to others I guess.

jlee24219, I was refering to the 8kda3j.
dreIU is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-04, 07:36 PM   #8
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
what's the deal? what's so bad about a PCI firewire card?

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-04, 07:41 PM   #9
dreIU
Member

 
dreIU's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bloomington, IN

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest
what's the deal? what's so bad about a PCI firewire card?
It is probabily not used to its full potential if it is limited to PCI speeds...

Anyway, the 8kda3j is what I reccomend. I wonder if it has working pci/agp lock..
dreIU is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-04, 07:46 PM   #10
Jess1313
Member

 
Jess1313's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The DFI AMD Forum......

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreIU
It is probabily not used to its full potential if it is limited to PCI speeds...

Anyway, the 8kda3j is what I reccomend. I wonder if it has working pci/agp lock..
Yes

__________________
Folding for Team 32

*Heat*
Jess1313 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-04, 07:55 PM   #11
dreIU
Member

 
dreIU's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bloomington, IN

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jess1313
Yes
Thanks! just what I wanted to hear... mwave.com should have them in monday, and newegg on wednesday... although both of them were supposed to have them this past week. Must be some high demand I guess.
dreIU is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-04, 08:10 PM   #12
hitechjb1
Senior Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreIU
It is probabily not used to its full potential if it is limited to PCI speeds...

...
I think, this is why, ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hitechjb1
Why native device support from chipset is better

For KT133, KT266, KT333, KT400, and some old Nforce2 motherboards, many devices are supported by the PCI bus. PCI bus has max bandwidth of only 132 MB/s (32 bit x 33 MHz).

Due to the use of legacy motherboards, many high speed devices such as IEEE 1394 (firewire) devices (HD, optical drives, video devices, camcorder, ...) are still running on firewire ports supported by PCI bus.

IEEE 1394 is a high speed serial bus standard that supports data transfer rates of up to 400 Mb/s (in 1394a) and 800 Mb/s (in 1394b). A single 1394 port can connect up to 63 external devices. As such, a firewire port is reaching the PCI bus limit. If there are more than one firewire port and more firewire devices are used, the PCI bandwidth and PCI bus contention would limit the performance of the connected firewire devices.

The 250 GB (compared to non-GB) chipset allows less device dependence on the PCI bus, whose bandwidth is way imbalance compared to an A64 system bandwidth (max_HT_BW to max_PCI_BW = 60:1), until PCI-express becomes main stream.

PCI-express 1X, 40 pins, maxBW = 2.5 Gb/s (basic link)
PCI-express 16X, 168 pins, maxBW = 5 GB/s

PCI-express and devices (post 17)

__________________

Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
A64 Overclocking Result Collection
Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
- DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
- ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
- ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
- Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display

Last edited by hitechjb1; 07-31-04 at 11:52 PM.
hitechjb1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-04, 08:59 PM   #13
shard
Member

 
shard's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: You Should Make a Wish!

 
whats the difference between the 8KDA3+ and the 8KDA3J ?

__________________
Intel i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz
X-Mystique DDL Surround Soundcard 7.1
Harman Kardon AVR 135 | JBL E30 Pair | BIC F3 Center | Dayton Reference 12" 4cu ft box
Gigabyte Z77-D3H
G. Skill DD3 1600 8gb
EVGA 670 GTX | Asus VE248H 24" Widescreen LCD
Corsair 750TX 750w PSU
shard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-04, 11:07 PM   #14
BaMz
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
How much will the new DFI's be?
BaMz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-04, 07:21 AM   #15
dreIU
Member

 
dreIU's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bloomington, IN

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by shard
whats the difference between the 8KDA3+ and the 8KDA3J ?
Look at the dirrerences in the newegg description... it is minimal as you can see.


As far as the DFI boards, they will be around 150ish.
dreIU is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-04, 09:32 AM   #16
zyx
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2004

 
waiting for dfi. right now epox
zyx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-04, 10:02 AM   #17
Droban
Member

 
Droban's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago

 
What's wrong with the ASUS board?

__________________
Intel 3770K @4.7GHz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600 (11-13-11-30) @2133Mhz, Asus Z77 Sabertooth, EVGA GTX 680 SC Signature, Acer HN274H, 2x Samsung 830 128gb in RAID-0

Yamaha 6.1 HTR-5660 4xHarman Kardon 6 Inch Bookshelfs 1xHarman Kardon Dual 5 inch Center 1xVelodyne CHT-10 Sub
Droban is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-04, 10:19 AM   #18
nocturnal714
The Lost Soul



Join Date: May 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreIU
Look at the dirrerences in the newegg description... it is minimal as you can see.


As far as the DFI boards, they will be around 150ish.
forget that. for me to spend 150 or more on a mobo it would have to be the greatest mobo ever made.
nocturnal714 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-04, 10:28 AM   #19
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
From what i've it could pretty much be the best board you've ever seen

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-04, 11:15 AM   #20
herbs97
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Coal City,Illinois

 
I agree with Droban, Whats wrong with asus. Such as;
K8V Se Deluxe w/K8T800 Chipset $118
K8N-E Deluxe w/nForce3 250 GB $137
K8V w/K8T800 $97
herbs97 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?