• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

is this safe

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ati

i overclocked my video card and it is stable but when i play delta force i see artifacts but this dosent happen with halo of far cry.the overclock increased my frame rate greatly when playing far cry and halo. my question is, is it safe to turn off the overclock every tim ei play delta force and turn it on every time i play halo or far cry?

I think you should lower your overclock, sometimes you may not see or notice some artifact in the other games. What card are you using, what is your oc and is there any extra cooling?

im using a ati 9200se (LOL) clocked to 215/137. this is my first time overclocking so i used the 9200 as a gueina pig instead of my 9800. the stock specs are 200/133.i replaced the stock heat sink with a fan heat sink combo and ram sinks the side of my case is off too.im surprised i see artifacts in delta force at such a low overclock.

heres a picture of one of the artifacts that flash on the maps as i walk.
artifact.jpg

Are you sure that is artifact? this is an example of artifact http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=318242 . make sure the game is updated. Artifacts usually is like that one from the picture in the link or like snow, little white spots all over the screen and sometimes you'll see a checkboard effect. Those things look like bugs that I used to have playng midtown madness 2 on my old geforce 2 mx200.

many of those appear about every 3 seconds. what ever they are thet dissapear when i move the settings back to stock. btw. i appreciate that you just didnt say " throw that card away over clock your 9800" like what the other forums say.