• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help with building a new system

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Franchize

A friend wants to build a new P4 system. I have no experience with P4's. He said he is looking at the 2.4 prescott533($122) with a Asus P4P800($94)I believe. He is definately leaning towards overclocking. Question is what do you guys think of this selection?

I thought he should just wait and get a couple more dollars together and buy the 2.4 800mhz. He also needs ram! Depending on what you suggest on cpu/board give me some ideas on good ram, please.

He doesnt seem to want to spend all that much. Wait to I tell him to overclock he will have to spend at least $100 on cooling :D Not to mention he needs video, hard drive, cdrom, floppy, case and powersupply :clap:

I believe the prescott you are preferring to is 2.4A. Heard it overclocks exeptionally well. If I remember correctly, someone oc to 3.4ghz with that chip. Personally, I would get the Asus P4C800-E dlx model which is about $30 more but the mentioned board is not bad.

The 2.4A Prescotts are cheap and do overclock good. I've heard people getting 3.6 gig from them air cooled. BUT... the Prescott runs hot, so what you save initially will cost you in cooling. Probably less than $100, but certainly a hunk of change if he plans on overclocking. All that and he'll still not have Hyperthreading or the high FSB of the 800 bus CPUs. Talk him into spending a little more for a 2.8C.

If he plans on overclocking a Prescott, then he needs an Asus P4C800 series or Abit IC7 series. For a Northwood CPU, the Asus P4P800 or Abit AI7 is fine. As for RAM, that's less obvious... depends on his overclocking goals and which CPU he picks.