Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

2 computers and 1 PSU??

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-04, 06:57 PM Thread Starter   #1
Zerileous

 
Zerileous's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO

 
2 computers and 1 PSU??


RetroUO and I have been looking at putting a mini-ITX secondary system into the upper regions of his massive antec server case. He will be getting a new 530watt fortron and would like to power a P4 3.0c, 2 hdds, 3 opticals, a vid or two, and case fans, along with the secondary via setup, from this single PSU. I am about 90% sure that the PSU has enough power. My first question is whether i am correct in this assumtion

My second question is how would we go about setting up two computers to operate from a single PSU. Would this be possible? How could it be done?

Thanks,
Z.

__________________
Main Rig
|Athlon XP Barton 2500+ @ 200x11=2200 MHz @ Stock Vcore ~ SLK-947U w/ 92mm Enermax (64CFM) ~ Abit NF7-S Rev. 2.0 ~ 512MB PC3200 Mushkin Black Level 1 @ stock vdimm. 2-3-2-11 ~ ATI Radeon 9800 Pro with XT hardware and XT bios Mod ~ Onboard Soundstorm ~ Logitech Z640s ~ WD Special Edition 120GB ~ Samsung 5400rpm 40GB file drive ~ Sony DRU-710A Dual layer +/- DVD Burner ~ 16x LiteOn DVD-ROM ~ Logitech MX500 Optical Mouse|
Lappy: Dell Inspiron 9300
|Pentium M 1.86 Ghz ~ 1GB DDR II ~ nVidia GeForce FX Go6800 256MB ~ 17" Widescreen 9200x1200 ~ 60GB 7200RPM HDD ~ DVD Drive/CD Burner combo ~ Centrino a/b/g interal WiFi and internal Bluetooth ~ 2x 80watt/hour batteries|
Zerileous is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-04, 07:03 PM   #2
Lejend
Member

 
Lejend's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wisconsin, USA

 
Well I wouldn't try it unless that Fortron could put out at least 40 amps on each of the +3.3, +5, and +12 rails. If it could, then I guess you'd have to split the motherboard leads into two splits. The easiest way to do it would be to hack up another psu to get the plugs and then splice it into the rail. Of course if you had another psu, I'd be easier to just install the 2nd psu.

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0Ghz
Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4 Motherboard
MSI Radeon HD 3870 512MB
G.Skill 8GB DDR2 (PC2 6400) 5-5-5-15
2x500GB WD Caviar SE16 7200RPM SATA HD (RAID 1)
Windows Vista 64-Bit Home Premium
Lejend is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-04, 07:07 PM   #3
ClarkKent
Member

 
ClarkKent's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada

 
I have no idea about power consuption problems. I do know that it is fairly easy. using 2x20 pin ATX power extension cables, to mod a 'y' adaptor cable to power 2 PSU's off of the same power supply. I haven't seen one retail but they might sell them. Let me stress again that I have no idea if it's possible to actually power the motherboards. I was just answering the second question.

EDIT: I don't recomend hacking up you PSU. Just mod the extension cables to plug into your PSU and then out to both motherboards.
ClarkKent is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-04, 07:55 PM Thread Starter   #4
Zerileous

 
Zerileous's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO

 
How would turning on each computer work? any idea? Would turning on one turn on both, or could you still turn them on and off seperately?

Lejend, i dont think the requirements are going to be that hefty. On mini-ITX.com they use small powersupplies that only supply about 40 watts to power one disk drive, one optical drive, and the board. Why would the massive power of a 530w fortron not be able to handle that much of an extra load?

Thanks,
Z.

__________________
Main Rig
|Athlon XP Barton 2500+ @ 200x11=2200 MHz @ Stock Vcore ~ SLK-947U w/ 92mm Enermax (64CFM) ~ Abit NF7-S Rev. 2.0 ~ 512MB PC3200 Mushkin Black Level 1 @ stock vdimm. 2-3-2-11 ~ ATI Radeon 9800 Pro with XT hardware and XT bios Mod ~ Onboard Soundstorm ~ Logitech Z640s ~ WD Special Edition 120GB ~ Samsung 5400rpm 40GB file drive ~ Sony DRU-710A Dual layer +/- DVD Burner ~ 16x LiteOn DVD-ROM ~ Logitech MX500 Optical Mouse|
Lappy: Dell Inspiron 9300
|Pentium M 1.86 Ghz ~ 1GB DDR II ~ nVidia GeForce FX Go6800 256MB ~ 17" Widescreen 9200x1200 ~ 60GB 7200RPM HDD ~ DVD Drive/CD Burner combo ~ Centrino a/b/g interal WiFi and internal Bluetooth ~ 2x 80watt/hour batteries|

Last edited by Zerileous; 08-12-04 at 08:10 PM.
Zerileous is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-04, 01:48 AM   #5
Loud
Member

 
Loud's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lynchburg, Virgina

 
This sort of thing has been done quite successfully over in the Folding Forums. Look for threads over there on Folding Farms. In a nutshell, you buy two ATX extenders and build a 'Y' connector out of them. But there are more details ... some wires get connected ... others don't - better you should go read the posts by people who have actually done it.
Loud is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 08:22 PM   #6
julianba
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NJ,USA

 
julianba is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?