• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Probably a dumb question but...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Lander

Registered
i'm new to overclocking and I have a few questions. First can i overclock my fsb if my ram doesn't support more than im already running (i.e. i have my 333mhz fsb with pc2700 or 333mhz ram). Second I really don't know why this is i just had to rebuild because i fried a cpu it wasn't even overclocked, the case just had poor airflow, but now i have a new case, a need hsf the thermaltake volcano 12, at full blast and as5 and running my barton 2500 desktop, its idling at about 43c, why is it so hot i don't get this the case's sides are even off and my room can't be more than 70f, anyways im really needing help here cause i want to overclock. All opinions are welcome.

well first of the volcano 12 is not a good heatsink. I would check and see if the heat sink is seated correctly. Next I would check the airflow in the case, what fans are you running (number, size etc). What are you voltages, vcore and vdimm.

To answer your first question yes memory can be overclocked to a certain degree. I was able to hit 400fsb with my pc2700

Finally, give use your system specs, look at my sig as a guide