Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Ocabiltiy of a Intel Pentium M 745 1.8 GHz, 400MHz FSB, on-die 2MB L2 Cache

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-14-04, 01:32 AM Thread Starter   #1
wfarid
Member

 
wfarid's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ

 
Ocabiltiy of a Intel Pentium M 745 1.8 GHz, 400MHz FSB, on-die 2MB L2 Cache


Model# BXM80536GC1800F
Item # N82E16819111160
Specifications:
Model: Intel Pentium M
Core: Dothan
Operating Frequency: 1.8GHz
FSB: 400MHz
Cache: L1/32K+32K; L2/ 2MB
Voltage: 0.956V-1.052V
Process: 0.09Micron
Socket: Socket 478
Multimedia Instruction: MMX, SSE, SSE2


I'm thinking that if the pin trick can work for this (like it does for the other p4 m's) and make it automatically at 200mhz that this baby would BE SICK!!! it made on a 90nano process so that might mean TONS of heat, but if it was wc, i dunno, it sounds like a REALLY sweet chip to me.

What do u guys think? I am really right now


__________________
Main rig
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P (F9b)Q9550 @ 4ghz, 8 Gb G.Skill; 1.5 * 2 Seagate 7200.11 in Raid 1;HIS ATI Radeon 4870;Creative X-fi Fatal1ty Champion; PCP&C Silencer 750; Lian-Li PC-A20; HP LP2475W 24"
Laptop:
Asus Z63a 14" ; 1.7 Pentium M pin modded to 2.26
2 gigs of OCZ DDR II 533 Ram; 160gig, 8mb cache, 5400rpm hd; Atheros 5008, b/g/n; DL Dvd Burner

MY HEAT
wfarid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-04, 02:02 AM   #2
NookieN
Member

 
NookieN's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The West

 
That's a Pentium M, not a P4-M. The microarchitecture is completely different. Aside from the fact that you'd have an extremely hard time getting it to work in a standard P4 motherboard, it wouldn't overclock to the speeds you're thinking. It would probably go to 2.2Ghz on air and maybe 2.4-2.5 on more advanced cooling. This good news is that it wouldn't spew out heat at the rate a P4 does.
NookieN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-04, 02:20 AM Thread Starter   #3
wfarid
Member

 
wfarid's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ

 
good point but even 2.4 on water it would really kick but. Think about it, it'd be better comparable to like a 3.6 to around 3.8 intel chip.

__________________
Main rig
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P (F9b)Q9550 @ 4ghz, 8 Gb G.Skill; 1.5 * 2 Seagate 7200.11 in Raid 1;HIS ATI Radeon 4870;Creative X-fi Fatal1ty Champion; PCP&C Silencer 750; Lian-Li PC-A20; HP LP2475W 24"
Laptop:
Asus Z63a 14" ; 1.7 Pentium M pin modded to 2.26
2 gigs of OCZ DDR II 533 Ram; 160gig, 8mb cache, 5400rpm hd; Atheros 5008, b/g/n; DL Dvd Burner

MY HEAT
wfarid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-04, 02:29 AM   #4
NookieN
Member

 
NookieN's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The West

 
Well it's still an Intel chip, whether you're talking about a P4 or a P-M.

X86-Secret overclocked a Dothan to 2.4Ghz when it first came out. The performance was indeed impressive. But the real trick is getting it to work in a desktop system with evenly matched components.

http://www.x86-secret.com/articles/c...n/dothan-7.htm
NookieN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-04, 02:38 AM Thread Starter   #5
wfarid
Member

 
wfarid's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ

 
wow that is pretty impressive and geez those were some low temps. Hmm it didnt really say HOW to get a dothan working on a desktop. Any ideas people?

__________________
Main rig
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P (F9b)Q9550 @ 4ghz, 8 Gb G.Skill; 1.5 * 2 Seagate 7200.11 in Raid 1;HIS ATI Radeon 4870;Creative X-fi Fatal1ty Champion; PCP&C Silencer 750; Lian-Li PC-A20; HP LP2475W 24"
Laptop:
Asus Z63a 14" ; 1.7 Pentium M pin modded to 2.26
2 gigs of OCZ DDR II 533 Ram; 160gig, 8mb cache, 5400rpm hd; Atheros 5008, b/g/n; DL Dvd Burner

MY HEAT
wfarid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-04, 03:00 AM   #6
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
if you can do it the only way i can think of is to take the socket off the mobo and make a converter like powerleap makes and reroute the pins to match the P-M pin layout... but we are talking lots of work...

*edit*
if you know someone that can get you one of these.... then hook me up too! someone posted this a while back i had to find it.....

http://developer.intel.com/design/in...s/pentiumm.htm

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare

Last edited by Evilsizer; 08-14-04 at 03:09 AM.
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-04, 03:10 AM   #7
Sjaak
Member

 
Sjaak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Netherlands

 
do you actually own the chip?

i read the results from the 2.4Ghz comparison awhile back - looked pretty good. If anyone can get this chip to work on a desktop board with DC memory, it will really shine. After the prescott 'debacle' (but getting better) Intel is supposed to bring these babies to the desktop in a year or so.

__________________
'Apparantly reality has a strong liberal bias'
Sjaak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-04, 04:41 AM Thread Starter   #8
wfarid
Member

 
wfarid's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ

 
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...C-pr1c3grabb3r


its already here... where have u been... lol

__________________
Main rig
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P (F9b)Q9550 @ 4ghz, 8 Gb G.Skill; 1.5 * 2 Seagate 7200.11 in Raid 1;HIS ATI Radeon 4870;Creative X-fi Fatal1ty Champion; PCP&C Silencer 750; Lian-Li PC-A20; HP LP2475W 24"
Laptop:
Asus Z63a 14" ; 1.7 Pentium M pin modded to 2.26
2 gigs of OCZ DDR II 533 Ram; 160gig, 8mb cache, 5400rpm hd; Atheros 5008, b/g/n; DL Dvd Burner

MY HEAT
wfarid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-04, 04:45 AM   #9
Sjaak
Member

 
Sjaak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Netherlands

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wfarid
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...C-pr1c3grabb3r


its already here... where have u been... lol

it wont fit normal desktop boards. currenty its meant for mobile computing only. some very rare expensive MuATX boards have been released for it, but nothing too serious.

__________________
'Apparantly reality has a strong liberal bias'
Sjaak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-04, 04:49 AM   #10
Sjaak
Member

 
Sjaak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Netherlands

 


Quote:
Originally Posted by newegg
Voltage: 0.956V-1.052V
Process: 0.09Micron
Socket: Socket 478
i thought these chips were socket 479

The P4-M was socket 478 compatible - only lower voltages etc. I really thought these P-M would be a different socket.

read http://www.overclockers.com/tips00593/ - i think the socket 478 from newegg is a typo

__________________
'Apparantly reality has a strong liberal bias'
Sjaak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-04, 07:20 AM Thread Starter   #11
wfarid
Member

 
wfarid's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ

 
hmmm i dunno, maybe... ..

__________________
Main rig
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P (F9b)Q9550 @ 4ghz, 8 Gb G.Skill; 1.5 * 2 Seagate 7200.11 in Raid 1;HIS ATI Radeon 4870;Creative X-fi Fatal1ty Champion; PCP&C Silencer 750; Lian-Li PC-A20; HP LP2475W 24"
Laptop:
Asus Z63a 14" ; 1.7 Pentium M pin modded to 2.26
2 gigs of OCZ DDR II 533 Ram; 160gig, 8mb cache, 5400rpm hd; Atheros 5008, b/g/n; DL Dvd Burner

MY HEAT
wfarid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-04, 12:07 PM   #12
Sjaak
Member

 
Sjaak's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The Netherlands

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wfarid
hmmm i dunno, maybe... ..
where have you been

__________________
'Apparantly reality has a strong liberal bias'
Sjaak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-04, 01:03 PM Thread Starter   #13
wfarid
Member

 
wfarid's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ

 
lol, yea i hear this guy named saaya over at xtremeresources forum is in the process of designing a bridge so that one could use a dothan on their desktop... he's like 50% done...

__________________
Main rig
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P (F9b)Q9550 @ 4ghz, 8 Gb G.Skill; 1.5 * 2 Seagate 7200.11 in Raid 1;HIS ATI Radeon 4870;Creative X-fi Fatal1ty Champion; PCP&C Silencer 750; Lian-Li PC-A20; HP LP2475W 24"
Laptop:
Asus Z63a 14" ; 1.7 Pentium M pin modded to 2.26
2 gigs of OCZ DDR II 533 Ram; 160gig, 8mb cache, 5400rpm hd; Atheros 5008, b/g/n; DL Dvd Burner

MY HEAT
wfarid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-04, 06:15 PM   #14
Captain Newbie
Senior Django-loving Member

 
Captain Newbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression

 
Pentium 4M != Pentium M, both in terms of socket and approach. Don't know what the PM uses as a socket, but it does maintain the same signal interface (not pinout) that the normal P4s use. You would have to do some major hackage to get it to work in a desktop board

__________________
B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
"And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

Strong * Focused * Safe
Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)
Captain Newbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-04, 10:00 PM   #15
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
not major hackage but rerouting pins would be time consuming...... A P-M is based off of the P6 core not even close to P4's core... Yes though a P-m will work with current chipsets they just need to match the PIN LAYOUT of P4's mobo's.... but why overclock one of those? you would be better going with one of the .9micron 1mb versions....

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?