• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Hacking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Stupid Boy

This is just a fun thing that I've been doing for about six months:

I act like I'm cracking when I'm just hacking my computer or my cousin's computer. (He lets me hack his computer because we are both computer nerds.)

I have done this to friends, teachers and family, all of whom have not known very much about computers. I think it would be really fun to do this to a person who thinks he knows a lot that he really doesn't know.

Here are some examples of what happens:

I say: "I messed up someone's GUI--'GUI' stands for graphical user interface, which is all the windows and the desktop and the icons--so he had to use the command line...."

All I did was make an error while editing my XF86Config file.

I say: "I changed someone's keyboard layout so that it wasn't the standard QWERTY layout, so most of the characters on his keyboard didn't match those that would be typed."

I changed my keyboard layout to dvorak in XF86Config.

After performing a ping of death on a PC in my house, I tell my parents, "I've pinged lots of websites."

Those pings weren't deadly.

I wasn't very skilled in Linux when I first did this, so I didn't know too much, but it was still extremely fun. It will be much more fun now because I know much more.

I've freaked a few people out by leaving Uplink (a cracking simulation game) running idle on the "International Criminal Database". I guess they watched too many movies.

ThePerfectCore said:
I've freaked a few people out by leaving Uplink (a cracking simulation game) running idle on the "International Criminal Database". I guess they watched too many movies.

That game is so fun. I love it. But not as much as FPSs...