Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Picked up a 2.8 800MHZ Prescott

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-24-04, 07:50 PM Thread Starter   #1
Lotec25
Member

 
Lotec25's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Florida

 
Picked up a 2.8 800MHZ Prescott


Picked up a prescott last week. Was geeting tired of the old celeron 2.6 i had and this thing is rocking. I got it at 3.1 right now and it has been running great so far. I am going to push it harder just giveing it alot of time to break in and get ready to run a little harder. I have doom 3 running at about 50 to 60 FPS. And UT2004 is alot better now. Just thought i would drop a thread to let everyone know.

Thanks.
Lotec25.
Lotec25 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-04, 08:18 PM   #2
nickmckay
Disabled

 
nickmckay's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004

 
Rawk on! Whats the rest of your setup? And whats your temps?
nickmckay is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-04, 08:40 PM   #3
Vflux
Member

 
Vflux's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: FOLDING

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lotec25
Picked up a prescott last week. Was geeting tired of the old celeron 2.6 i had and this thing is rocking. I got it at 3.1 right now and it has been running great so far. I am going to push it harder just giveing it alot of time to break in and get ready to run a little harder. I have doom 3 running at about 50 to 60 FPS. And UT2004 is alot better now. Just thought i would drop a thread to let everyone know.

Thanks.
Lotec25.

The only thing i could say is COOL IT and CRANK IT!!!!!



GL
Vflux
Vflux is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-04, 09:00 PM Thread Starter   #4
Lotec25
Member

 
Lotec25's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Florida

 
System is water cooled. Running at 30C right now. Here is a pic of it. http://www.ocforums.com/showpost.php...8&postcount=15 Got a 9800Pro water cooled. Seams to be running great just giveing iT alot of burn it time. I am going to crank it soon. After playing doom for about 6 hours the other day temps were at 32C. Looks preety good so far. It is running cooler then the 2.6 Celeron was. Thanks for the replies.

Lotec25
Lotec25 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-24-04, 10:33 PM   #5
@md0Cer

 
@md0Cer's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver, CO

 
Nice! If I were to buy a CPU right now it would most likely be a 2.8 Prescott becuase that is all I could afford. I thought these could get in the higher 3GHz range. 3.6-8ish or am I wrong?

__________________
Current System:
XP 1700+ DLT3C 0310 XPMW 185X13.5 = 2.5GHz 1.875Vcore
Thermalright SLK-900A
Abit KD7 Via KT400 5:2:1 divider PCI: 37Mhz AGP:92.5Mhz
3X256+512=1278MB RAM assortment 185Mhz 2.95Vdimm
ATi Radeon X700 Pro 256mb Core:435Mhz Ram: 475Mhz
Forton 400 watt PSU
Black Cheiftec Dragon full side window

Folding User Stats
@md0Cer is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-04, 01:41 PM   #6
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Lotec, even with watercooling, you might consider improving your case ventilation and maybe add mosfet heatsinks (see link).

http://www.overclockers.com/tips1179/

Quote:
Originally Posted by @md0Cer
Nice! If I were to buy a CPU right now it would most likely be a 2.8 Prescott becuase that is all I could afford. I thought these could get in the higher 3GHz range. 3.6-8ish or am I wrong?
Depends on cooling and how far it'll go before you have to start increasing vcore. My old 2.8E (first one out last February) did 3.4 gig with air cooling on default vcore. I got nervous about heat when I went higher, but it probably would of went to 3.6 gig ok if I had done cooling mods (see my article linked above). Same CPU on water went up to 3.8 gig (although it wasn't quite 100% Prime stable). Same CPU in a Prommy went to about 4.1 gig.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-04, 04:33 PM   #7
surfinguru
Member

 
surfinguru's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: In the barrel!

 
Cool another 2.8E user! I just picked one up about a 2 weeks ago now. Running it at 3.2 w/stock HSF. Idle 52c / load 67C / case 26C. I've had it up to 3.41, but was not stable. Water cooling will be going in this wekend.

My goal is 3.5 and quite. If I can get that, then I'll be happy.....for a while. <insert evil grin>

Such a big improvement over the 1.2 Cely........

edit: forgot to add it's an SL79K, Costa Rica chip

Last edited by surfinguru; 08-25-04 at 04:41 PM.
surfinguru is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-04, 04:40 PM   #8
@md0Cer

 
@md0Cer's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver, CO

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by batboy
Lotec, even with watercooling, you might consider improving your case ventilation and maybe add mosfet heatsinks (see link).

http://www.overclockers.com/tips1179/



Depends on cooling and how far it'll go before you have to start increasing vcore. My old 2.8E (first one out last February) did 3.4 gig with air cooling on default vcore. I got nervous about heat when I went higher, but it probably would of went to 3.6 gig ok if I had done cooling mods (see my article linked above). Same CPU on water went up to 3.8 gig (although it wasn't quite 100% Prime stable). Same CPU in a Prommy went to about 4.1 gig.
Nice! Thanks for the information!

__________________
Current System:
XP 1700+ DLT3C 0310 XPMW 185X13.5 = 2.5GHz 1.875Vcore
Thermalright SLK-900A
Abit KD7 Via KT400 5:2:1 divider PCI: 37Mhz AGP:92.5Mhz
3X256+512=1278MB RAM assortment 185Mhz 2.95Vdimm
ATi Radeon X700 Pro 256mb Core:435Mhz Ram: 475Mhz
Forton 400 watt PSU
Black Cheiftec Dragon full side window

Folding User Stats
@md0Cer is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-25-04, 08:28 PM Thread Starter   #9
Lotec25
Member

 
Lotec25's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Florida

 
batboy thanks for the info. I want to add the mosfet sinks but i think i might hold off until i get a new mobo soon. I have a SY-P4I865PE Plus DRAGON 2 right now and am looking for another mobo not really sure but i think i can find something better then what i got with the rest of the highend gear. Yea so far the 2.8 seams to run good the numbers on it are SL7KA. I will start running it harder this weekend and let everyone know what it is doing.

Lotec25
Lotec25 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-04, 01:14 AM   #10
Archer36
Member

 
Archer36's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Michigan, US

 
I got my 2.8E in June 3 days ago i OC'ed it to 3.0 and its holding like a rock not much of a temp increase or anything, no crashes at all.

__________________
"We will always remember. We will always be proud. We will always be prepared, so we may always be free."
-- Fmr. President Ronald Reagan

"We must all hang together, gentlemen...else, we shall most assuredly hang separately"
-- Benjamin Franklin

"Freedom is not free, that it comes with the highest of sacrifices. The price of blood"
-- 300

Archer36 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?