Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

2.6C OC opinions...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-26-04, 03:48 PM Thread Starter   #1
phaeton
Member



Join Date: Jun 2004

 
2.6C OC opinions...


I'm trying to get max juice from my 2.6C, I've got it at 3.185ghz, with my ram at 5:4 ddr400, 2.5-4-4-8 timings, fsb is 245x13.

It's stable at 1.6v vcore, and I think my ram is 1.75vdimm. I seem to have hit a wall, its stable here, but shouldn't I be able to go just a weeee bit higher?

My main question is how high can I take the vcore? I'm on water with about 42oC load....

Thanks in advance!
phaeton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-04, 03:52 PM   #2
Vflux
Member

 
Vflux's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: FOLDING

 
I had my 2.6C@3.3Ghz at 1.67V 24/7 all on air....When i 3Dbench i bump the vcore all the way up to 1.77Vcore coz the board undervolted so much without the "Droop Mod" and locks/crashes my system when the Vcore droop below 1.61V.

What mobo are you using btw? I would have to say 1.7V max 24/7 if you're watercooled and also your vcore is stable at those voltages......


BL
Vflux
Vflux is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-04, 04:36 PM   #3
xTrEmEoVrClOcKr
member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego, CA

 
Im glad to see a thread on the 2.6c, I have mine overclocked about 3.5 stable (Primed it for 11 1/2 hours) and I hit the wall at about 3.55. Dont push the vcore over 1.7 to be safe. Im at 1.6v to overclocked to 3.5ghz. I would just set it to 1.6 or your 2.6 might get a bit toasty! You can get a better overclock if you get better cooling. I know watercooling is supposed to be the ****nac, but, I can achieve 3.5 on air. Zalman 7000CU with Vantec Tornado, 12 more fans after that . I say you upgrade something on your water cooling system to get lower temps. 42 Idle is a little toasty, mine stays around 26 - 28C idle with fan speeds on min. Anyways, I know you can push that 2.6 higher, btw, what kind of mobo do you have? It could be a real quick fix with flashing new bios and stuff.

__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.6GHz w/ XIGMATEK SD1283 120mm
Asus P8Z68-Z
8GB Corsair Vengeance
640GB x 2 WD Black in RAID0, 500GB Data drive
Sapphire HD5830 @ 900Mhz / 1225Mhz
Lian Li V2000A w/ 550W Antec TruePower II
xTrEmEoVrClOcKr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-04, 04:41 PM   #4
Vflux
Member

 
Vflux's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: FOLDING

 
Cool it and Crank it.....
Vflux is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-04, 06:04 PM   #5
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by xTrEmEoVrClOcKr
Anyways, I know you can push that 2.6 higher, btw, what kind of mobo do you have? It could be a real quick fix with flashing new bios and stuff.
your 2.6c is a superacheiver. LOTs and LOTs and LOTS more of those 2.6's hit a wall at 3.25. for a while, they were by far the least desireable northwood out there. only lately have i heard of ANYONE breaking 3.4 with one, and even then, i bet for every 2.6c above 3.3, there are 50 that hit the 3.25 wall.

i'd say he's maxed it, or very close to.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-04, 06:19 PM   #6
Vflux
Member

 
Vflux's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: FOLDING

 
IMO xtremeoverclocker and nebulous has one of the greatest 2.6C's out there. Theirs are able to get cranked at near default voltage, and my system is struggling at 3.4Ghz without the droop mod at 1.77V....btw nebulous just traded his 2.6C to his friend and now a proud owner of 3.0E....

3.25Ghz seems to be a wall with most 2.6C........
Vflux is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-04, 08:14 PM   #7
ocicide
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NorCal

 
My 2.6 used to do 3536mhz=272fsb@1.6vcore But is has seemed to slowly degrade over time. That was well over a year ago, its now @255fsb, 1.5750vcore. There is now way it would even boot at 260+ fsb now. I rolled the dice and tried to get a good 3.0, but cam up snake eyes, went back to the 2.6 and sold the 3.0 I may try another 3.0 in the not so distant future.

__________________
Abit IC7
P4c 2.6@3.4
1gb ADATA PC4200
AIW-X800xt
Dual Raptors (RAID 0)
250+500gb Maxtors
Audigy 2zs
ocicide is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-04, 08:25 PM   #8
Vflux
Member

 
Vflux's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: FOLDING

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocicide
My 2.6 used to do 3536mhz=272fsb@1.6vcore But is has seemed to slowly degrade over time. That was well over a year ago, its now @255fsb, 1.5750vcore. There is now way it would even boot at 260+ fsb now. I rolled the dice and tried to get a good 3.0, but cam up snake eyes, went back to the 2.6 and sold the 3.0 I may try another 3.0 in the not so distant future.
I dont think your chip degraded though, theres no way! hehehe.... Either your board got burned in, or the tim between IHS and the core got burned in as well. Coz when i removed the IHS on my CPU the tim that was in there was so dry...If you probably remove the IHS and replace the tim with AS5 then your chip would likely to clock the same way you clocked it before. Just my .02 cents...


Vflux
Vflux is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-04, 08:35 PM   #9
ocicide
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NorCal

 
I really wish you were right V, I have had the chip in and out so many times that TIM is not the case ( i had a 3.0 for while too) and i have even improved cooling (went from Zalman 7000cu to a SP-94) Temps arent an issue (idle 40-42c load 49-52c)

She just wont do what she used to.

__________________
Abit IC7
P4c 2.6@3.4
1gb ADATA PC4200
AIW-X800xt
Dual Raptors (RAID 0)
250+500gb Maxtors
Audigy 2zs
ocicide is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-04, 09:13 PM   #10
Vflux
Member

 
Vflux's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: FOLDING

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ocicide
I really wish you were right V, I have had the chip in and out so many times that TIM is not the case ( i had a 3.0 for while too) and i have even improved cooling (went from Zalman 7000cu to a SP-94) Temps arent an issue (idle 40-42c load 49-52c)

She just wont do what she used to.

Dont worry ocicide we both have a 2.6C thats stable at 3.3Ghz for 24/7 of usage....
Vflux is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-04, 08:15 AM Thread Starter   #11
phaeton
Member



Join Date: Jun 2004

 
Thanks for all the great replies... my temp's arent that high when you think about ambient... It's about 35oC :/ And it was 42oC load... so only 7oC above ambient at load Idle is running about 37-38. I'm gonna be movin the box into a larger room without 4 other computers heating up the air so then I will have much better temps...

I'm runnin a MSI i865PE Neo2 FIS2R board, I bought it right when it came out since it was cheap but got nice awards I'm thinking there is a wall at 3.25 on this cpu, since anything higher and I can only sometimes POST even on 3.3 :/

Well, I don't mind too much if I can't hit higher than 3.2/3.1, I hope to upgrade after the new year anyways.
phaeton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-04, 03:45 PM   #12
curt123
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: PA

 
Your temps sound pretty good and not to beat the dead horse here but the 2.6c seems to usually top out around 3.2-3.3 such was my luck.
curt123 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-04, 04:35 PM   #13
Vflux
Member

 
Vflux's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: FOLDING

 
Yup these 2.6C tops out max at 3.3Ghz bootable through windows, and weirdest part is they run so cool!!!!



Cool It and Crank It!
Vflux
Vflux is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-28-04, 12:21 AM Thread Starter   #14
phaeton
Member



Join Date: Jun 2004

 
Oh well, at least I'm satisfied that I'm not missin out on any performance

Maybe I'll get a Athlon 64 in a year or so
phaeton is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?