Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

clawhammer vs newcastle

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-27-04, 05:00 PM Thread Starter   #1
bagelrain
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: CA

 
clawhammer vs newcastle


for A64 3200+, which is the way to go, and why?
bagelrain is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-04, 05:01 PM   #2
Vflux
Member

 
Vflux's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: FOLDING

 
clawhammer.........
Vflux is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-04, 05:11 PM   #3
Xaggerate
Member



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Diego

 
I've heard the 3200 Clawhammer CG revision has been having some poor results at even 1.8v....I found one for sale at a reliable site online...but I'm a bit worried...

I won't shell out 330+ for the 3700+, so which processor is really the OC dream for the socket 754 setup?

3200 Clawhammer C0
3200 Clawhammer CG
3200 Newcastle CG
3200 Newcastle C0

Which one?
Xaggerate is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-04, 05:19 PM   #4
t_biggs
Member

 
t_biggs's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin

 
I have a 3200+ Newcastle CG. I got it to 2.4ghz no problem on stock voltages. I am not running it that way though because full load I got to 62C... I didn't like that one bit. I may reseat the heatsink (Thermaltake Venus 7+) to see if it helps. Stock, it is running about 55C full load.

Before that, I had a 2800+ CO. I think it was a Clawhammer, but CPU-Z said Newcastle. That topped out at around 2.2ghz with 1.7V, and ran about 55C. I won't go past that voltage.
t_biggs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-04, 05:50 PM   #5
Jess1313
Member

 
Jess1313's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The DFI AMD Forum......

 
read sig, if you can find a 3200+ clawhammer CG revison you should get good results....

__________________
Folding for Team 32

*Heat*
Jess1313 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-04, 06:02 PM   #6
SimGuy
Member

 
SimGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

 
AFAIK, Newcastle CO's don't exist
ClawHammer CO's don't overclock real well & have a picky memory controller.

My choice? ClawHammer CG's seem to overclock pretty good on high-end air and offer better performance that their Newcastle CG counterparts at the same clock speed.

__________________
Merlin - The Primary System:
AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 @ 3000 MHz :: Asus A8N-SLI Premium :: 1024 MB OCZ 3200 EL Rev.2 :: BFG GeForce 8800 GTX OC
Lian-Li PC71 :: 36.7 GB WD Raptor :: 300 GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10 :: 21" Dell UltraScan P1110 :: OCZ GameXStream 700W
SimGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-04, 06:06 PM   #7
Jess1313
Member

 
Jess1313's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The DFI AMD Forum......

 
CO newcastle do exist, but they are just half cashe disabled Clawhammer co's..

__________________
Folding for Team 32

*Heat*
Jess1313 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-04, 06:44 PM   #8
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
A NewCastle is a completely different core than clawhammer, there is no C0 newcastles. There are, on the other hand, C0 clawhammers with half the cache disabled. Which results in a CPU with the same cache amount as the NewCastles.

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-04, 07:34 PM   #9
gixxer420
Member

 
gixxer420's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA

 
how do you tell if co or cg

__________________


:: 8400 @ 4.2
:: Giga Ud3p
:: Ballistix Tracer 2gb
:: Evga GTX 260 / 216
:: CM 690
:: OCZ GameXstream 600
gixxer420 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-04, 07:53 PM   #10
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
the clawhammer C0 has an OPN code that ends with "AP", a CG CH has "AR" at the end, a newcastle has "AX" at the end. You should stay away from the "AP"s

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-04, 09:24 PM   #11
gixxer420
Member

 
gixxer420's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA

 
ty

__________________


:: 8400 @ 4.2
:: Giga Ud3p
:: Ballistix Tracer 2gb
:: Evga GTX 260 / 216
:: CM 690
:: OCZ GameXstream 600
gixxer420 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-27-04, 09:31 PM   #12
hitechjb1
Senior Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
The desktop CG ClawHammer is hard to find these days, unless you want to go with a mobile DTR or 1.4 V ClawHammer 3000+ or 3200+.

Mobile A64 ClawHammer may not be supported by some motherboards and bios.

Further there is a premium these days to pay for a mobile A64 for the same PR rating.

So the "only" choice these days is a NewCastle, IMO, a 3000+ NC is good for price performance and overclocking.

This post may help to explain the difference in case you haven't come across it

Difference between a ClawHammer and a NewCastle

__________________

Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
A64 Overclocking Result Collection
Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
- DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
- ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
- ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
- Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display

Last edited by hitechjb1; 08-27-04 at 09:57 PM.
hitechjb1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?