Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Another Newbie with yet another help me help me question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-29-04, 02:50 AM Thread Starter   #1
SuperDave26
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
Another Newbie with yet another help me help me question


LOL ok so its not soo much a *HELP ME* *HELP ME*, more a "Whats your opinion" question.

Umm around last week I made a post about OC settings, and got some good repsonses and I thank all those who helped me again. One member also suggested to post my system specs, to assist in the process of trouble shooting, which I am happy to say, I will provide in this post.

I currently have upgraded my whole PC, EXCEPT FOR, the CPU. I am still running my original 1.5ghz P4 that I got a while ago with the system. And since I spent most of my cash money for now on other upgrades, I am going to try and stay with my ol' 1.5 and see If I cant squeeze some more juice out of it.

So my question is, what is your guys's likely opinions on max OC cpu speeds can I shoot for based on this system configuration;

- RAIDMAX 'Scorpio' PC Case
- EverCool WC-201 AGP/CPU Water Cooling unit
- Artic Silver heat sink paste
- MSI 845E Max mobo
- 1.0 GB PC3200 DDR "ShikaRAM" memory
- Intel Pentium 4 CPU 1500mhz
- ATI Radeon 9600 128mb
- Maxtor 80GB HDD
- LG 4x 4040B DVD-Writer
- DVDROM 10x
- C-Media CMI8738 Audio Card
- Linksys NC100 Ethernet card
- Windows XP Pro (Service Pack 2)
(Also 3 system fans, one side wall mounted, out two on the rear of the case)

Some also told me to post as much info I could find out about my CPU in general. So I booted up the newest version of "Aida32" and this is what I got;

CPU Type: Intel P4, 1500Mhz (3.75x400)
CPU Alias: P68, Willamette, A80528
CPU Stepping: C1
Orig. Clock Speed: 1500Mhz
L1 Trace Cache: 12k instructions
L1 Cache: 8 kb
L2 Cache: 256 kb (in-die, ATE, Full-Speed)

So yah, all I know that under my old system set up, 512MB ram no water cooler and a Nvidia TNTmodel 64 32mb card, I could stabily run at 1.8 Ghz. I didnt want to try for any more. But since I've upgraded considerablly over the week, I'm assuming/hoping I'll be able to pull the speed up.

So yah, what should I look at for a setting a MAX goal I suppose?

I appreciate ANY help, and give thanx here in advance.

BTW: Mobo BIOS is up to date from MSI)
SuperDave26 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-29-04, 11:00 AM   #2
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
i'd say you are lucky to have gotten 1.8 outta it.

willies are not the best oc'ers, actually they are kinda sad.

i've had 2 of them, a 1.8 that i had at 2.2, and a 2.0 that ran 2.4 everyday for 3 years (still is in a friends pc).

most willies won't do 2.0+. especially not ones that start out at 1.5ghz stock.

to really get a good oc, you are looking at a new chip. your mobo doesn't support 800fsb cpus, like a 2.4c (see my sig for a decent 2.4c OC), but you could get a really nice 2.0ghz northwood and have a look at 3.2+.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-29-04, 11:31 AM   #3
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Yeah, I'm afraid those 1.5 Willies don't O/C that much. Probably about 1.7 gig on average, but that's better than nuttin'. I know where you can get a second hand 2.4B CPU really cheap. If you're interested, PM me.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-29-04, 01:53 PM Thread Starter   #4
SuperDave26
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
Yah I had been reading on here that willies were poop, but atleast for a week till I get paid again (the benefit of 2 jobs ='s pay each week) im short on funds. And dont even know if I wanna spend more money on my pc. But then again, I dont want to keep running below 2.0.
The manual for the mobo says it can handle a P4 from 1.5 - 2.4. It then continues to say, I can use a faster P4, but those above 2.4 clock speed were never tested and are not gauranteed to work lol

So yah, batboy ill send u a pm here in a sec. I could defenetly use a "decent" processor, for a "decent" price lol :P
SuperDave26 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?