Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Tools?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread

Old 08-31-04, 07:55 AM Thread Starter   #1
Super Nade
† SU(3) Moderator †

Tools?

Hello all:

I'm a self-build/OC Noob and was hoping you experts here could help me.
I'd like to put together a gaming/scientific computing box. I searched on the forums but nobody has spoken about the right mechanical tools being used. Do I need special tools to attach the processor to the Mobo or special screwdrivers? I was also looking for Noob proof info on fixing the processor to the Mobo,attaching/DETACHING the fan/heatsink and using thermal compounds.
One final Q:-
Has anybody tried using a seperate TEC element stuck onto the processor? Is there room for that? I get precision temprature control (.01 K) using a TEC/Thermistor (Marlow Industries) and an AD590 on my lasers so I was wondering if this could be a viable option. The TEC I use operates at +/- 12V and can draw 5A. It can cool the laser block to -30 C, although I set it at room temprature.

Sorry if I've cross posted.

Thank you all.

Tentative config:
ASUS AV8, 3500+, Gainward 6800 GT (If I have the bread! else 5700), Case/Power/Cooling (?), 1G Corsair value plus DDR400, Sony DVD RW, Audigy 7.1 (If I have the bread! else 5.1).

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-04, 08:12 AM   #2
JamminPotato

"Do I need special tools to attach the processor to the Mobo or special screwdrivers?"