Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

2.4 A or C?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-05-04, 11:08 AM Thread Starter   #1
MadOnion
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
2.4 A or C?


Not sure which one i have, c is the one with hyperthreading? i know my model doesn't have hyperthreading.. so i have a 2.4A?
MadOnion is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-04, 11:30 AM   #2
kindred
Member

 
kindred's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA

 
Here's a basic way to determine what you have.

2.4A - 400FSB
2.4B - 533FSB
2.4C - 800FSB w/HT
kindred is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-04, 11:37 AM Thread Starter   #3
MadOnion
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
I have a 2.4B then, good/bad?
MadOnion is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-04, 11:41 AM   #4
man_utd
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Amsterdam, NL

 
Thats not completely correct

A 2.4A may also be a 533FSB with 1MB L2 cache.
man_utd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-04, 11:45 AM   #5
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
1mb of cache wold make it a prescott. you would hav had to buy it pretty recently for it to be one of those.

i'd say its a northwood. so, 533fsb, 512k cache. they OC ok. 3.06 should be no probs.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-04, 11:45 AM Thread Starter   #6
MadOnion
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
Well i know i have a p4, northwood, and it has 533fsb but i dont have hyperthreading. So am i am 2.4A or 2.4B? currently at the moment i cant check how much cache i have.
MadOnion is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-04, 12:39 PM   #7
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
2.4b if its a northwood.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-04, 12:55 PM Thread Starter   #8
MadOnion
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
yea thanks, i found my exact proc on newegg http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...116-140&depa=1 p4 2.4b
MadOnion is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-04, 04:23 PM   #9
Lancelot

 
Lancelot's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: the Netherlands

10 Year Badge
 
You guys are getting things mixed up here. There was no 2.4'A' Northwood, just a 2.4 The original 'A' designation stopped at 2.0A to distinguish a 2.0 Northwood from 2.0 Willamette, so the list is;

2.4 = 400Mhz Northwood
2.4A = 533Mhz Prescott
2.4B = 533Mhz Northwood
2.4C = 800Mhz Northwood

__________________
:: Xeon E3-1220v2 @3745 on Asus P8H77-V with 8GB Corsair DDR3 @1712

Folding User Stats
Lancelot is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-04, 06:11 PM Thread Starter   #10
MadOnion
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
understood, thanks.
MadOnion is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-04, 08:13 AM   #11
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
i've got a 2.0a box at home. its a willie.

i've got a 1.8a box at home. also a willie.

400fsb, 256k cache.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-04, 09:44 AM   #12
man_utd
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Amsterdam, NL

 
that's not an A then... thats a plain vanilla 2.0
man_utd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-06-04, 10:59 AM   #13
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
funny how the box says 2.0a

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-04, 10:19 PM   #14
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Lancelot is right, the 1.6, 1.8, and 2.0 were Willamettes while the 1.6A, 1.8A, and 2.0A were Northwoods.

He's also right about there being no 2.4A Northwoods. The 2.4A is a Prescott.

MadOnion, if you have a 533 bus 2.4 Northwood, then it's indeed a 2.4B.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?