Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Playing XviD's

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-05-04, 01:10 PM Thread Starter   #1
DDR-PIII
Disabled

 
DDR-PIII's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 6p6

 
Question Playing XviD's


I've got Windows Media Player 10 installed, along with powerdvd & DivX. I downloaded a video that is encoded in XviD whioch is a DivX type file ? Anyway when opened with divx it played the video but it says it will need a new sound codec in order for me to hear sound. I know that the sound in the video file is AC & 5.1, how do get some sound working on the file ?
DDR-PIII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-04, 01:19 PM   #2
ebaY
Registered

 
ebaY's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 

__________________
:bang head
ebaY is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-04, 01:22 PM   #3
Oni
Oni-ni-Kanabō
Ninja Hippo eater Moderator

 
Oni's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Sounds like a job for . . . The Codecs!!

Everything you need should be in that one little package

__________________
Mama, put my guns in the ground. I can't shoot them anymore.

On Indefinite Hiatus

Asus P6T SE
Intel i7 930 @ Stock
12GB Corsair DDR3 9-9-9-24
XFX Radeon 5830 @ Stock
Corsair 750 Watt PSU

Oni is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-04, 01:34 PM   #4
JDXNC
Member

 
JDXNC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Qubec, Canada h?

10 Year Badge
 
K-lite Codec Pack(which included BS Player) works great for Xvid's.

__________________

Desktop: AMD Phenom 9550 @ 2.6Ghz @ 1.25v
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 | OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 4 X 1GB
G.Skill Phoenix 60GB SSD
| Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Radeon HD 3650 512MB | Dual 19" LCD's

Heatware
JDXNC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-05-04, 04:17 PM Thread Starter   #5
DDR-PIII
Disabled

 
DDR-PIII's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 6p6

 
thank you that worked, thanks for the other link Oni, and thanks for the following post
DDR-PIII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-05, 09:20 AM Thread Starter   #6
DDR-PIII
Disabled

 
DDR-PIII's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 6p6

 
once agian i have downloadedf an xvid file couldnt remember which audio codec i used before to hear the sound buy i knew i had posted a question and someone had help me, so thank you OC search button
DDR-PIII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-05, 10:22 AM   #7
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
it likely has AC3 sounds - the BEST pack to get is the Gordon Knot codec pack www.doom9.org

Xvid is a better form of avi compression, you have DivX and Xvid - but now with Divx 6 out it is becoming superious to Xvid once again.

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?