Notices

Overclockers Forums > Discussions > General Discussion
General Discussion Forum for general conversation, share interests, have a laugh or discuss anything not related to above or below forums.
Forum Jump

Tube Guitar Amps

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-04, 11:07 AM Thread Starter   #1
Roboman101
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: south dakota

 
Tube Guitar Amps


i'm wondering if anybody knows anything about these, i recently picked up (out of trash can) an Ampeg VT-40 from the late 60's/early 70's, and it worked fine, just had to replace a fuse, but a few weeks ago, it blew out one of it's output tubes, a 7027A, and i need to find a replacement, but nobody in town sells them or can get them, and i'd like to swap the 7027A's for something more common, i've read that 6L6-GC's, or 6550 would work, any confirmation?

Thanks for any help
Roboman101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-04, 11:25 AM   #2
Ebola
Senior Toilet Scrubber

 
Ebola's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rosemount, MN

10 Year Badge
 
If your talking vaccuum tubes you may have to look in the dump or ebay to find any. I don't know if anyone makes them anymore. My dad has some stereo components that use them and all I know is that they are ungodly expensive.

__________________
[Cythraul Design]
Ebola is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-04, 11:54 AM Thread Starter   #3
Roboman101
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: south dakota

 
yes, vacuum tubes, and they are actually fairly common now, with many manufactureres making the common ones, and one making 7027A's

and 40 for a matched pair for cheap ones up to 150 or more for new old stock
Roboman101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-04, 12:26 PM   #4
mateo88
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Marcos, Texas

 
Just do a google search, and search around diyaudio.com. You shouldn't have any problem finding replacements.
mateo88 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-04, 04:14 PM   #5
Malpine Walis
Disabled



Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Banned Camp

 
Ok here you go:

Military grade even so they are probably more expensive than fleabay.

Edit: As luck would have it, the guy who hooked me up with that supplier called right after I posted. He tells me that the "a" designation probably means that it is one of a matched set. So the military grade stuff is probably going to work fine even without the "a" designation.

Last edited by Malpine Walis; 09-07-04 at 04:24 PM.
Malpine Walis is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-04, 05:14 PM   #6
SysCrusher
Member

 
SysCrusher's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roboman101
i'm wondering if anybody knows anything about these, i recently picked up (out of trash can) an Ampeg VT-40 from the late 60's/early 70's, and it worked fine, just had to replace a fuse, but a few weeks ago, it blew out one of it's output tubes, a 7027A, and i need to find a replacement, but nobody in town sells them or can get them, and i'd like to swap the 7027A's for something more common, i've read that 6L6-GC's, or 6550 would work, any confirmation?

Thanks for any help
Go to musiciansfriend.com. That's where I get all mine from. 7027 is an output tube. Personally I like the 12AX7A for pre-amp tubes. 6L6 or EL34 for a power tube. I prefer the 6L6's myself. If you get the power tubes get them in a matched set. To be honest I think the only output tube you can use is the 6L6's to replace the 7027's with. Ampeg wired the output to use the 6L6's originally but just used the 7027's for a cheap(at the time) replacement. The 6L6's will handle higher voltages and put out better then the 7027's.
You can even get some heatsinks for them too. For a neat trick, Get you some thin pieces of sheet metal. About 2"X3" strips. Bend them in half and wedge them inbetween the tubes. Makes for some nice harmonics and feedback. LOL
SysCrusher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-07-04, 06:48 PM   #7
MadSkillzMan
Member



Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cleveland OHIO

 
yea, tube amps are common, id say replace all the tubes. heres the thing, if one tube "blows" your screwed. happened to my teacher, and a bandmate. Thing started smokin, teacher was lucky his amp survived.

You are VERY lucky to find a tube amp! id just find a local little guitar store. ud be surprised how many are around you.

__________________
Mian rig
2 x Dual G5 1.8ghz @ 29C :eek:
3gb ram
2x160GB Sata 1x250GB IDE
ATI 9600, dual monitors - 19" AOC LCD's, 42" RCA Plasma!
OC'ed Super Drive (8x SL to 16x DL, i heart firmware flash)
Backup Rig: 4 x Dell Optiplex G270 2.8ghz HT 1Gb ram
iPod Touch 3.1.2 Jailbroken!
OSX 5.8
MadSkillzMan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-08-04, 10:23 AM Thread Starter   #8
Roboman101
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: south dakota

 
i went to a local place yesterday, and they wanted to charge me $60 for a pair of 7027's, i said i'll think about it, meaning i'll probably buy a pair of sovetek or tesla/JJ-slovakia tubes off the net for either 40 or 50 a matched pair.

and any other preamp tubes are now in production, except a 12DX7A, but that can be replaced with a 12AX7A, so HOORAY!

now i just need an electric guitar

Thanks for all the help
Roboman101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-08-04, 02:23 PM   #9
MadSkillzMan
Member



Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cleveland OHIO

 
yea tubes are costly. my teachers fender, costs him something like 200$ to replace almost all the tubes sounding SEMI good (hes never happy w. it)

__________________
Mian rig
2 x Dual G5 1.8ghz @ 29C :eek:
3gb ram
2x160GB Sata 1x250GB IDE
ATI 9600, dual monitors - 19" AOC LCD's, 42" RCA Plasma!
OC'ed Super Drive (8x SL to 16x DL, i heart firmware flash)
Backup Rig: 4 x Dell Optiplex G270 2.8ghz HT 1Gb ram
iPod Touch 3.1.2 Jailbroken!
OSX 5.8
MadSkillzMan is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Discussions > General Discussion
General Discussion Forum for general conversation, share interests, have a laugh or discuss anything not related to above or below forums.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?