Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

4000+ 939 with 1MB of L2 cache?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-04, 03:26 AM Thread Starter   #1
OC Detective
Member

 
OC Detective's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malaysia

 
4000+ 939 with 1MB of L2 cache?


According to the link here..
http://www.aceshardware.com/forum?read=115098351
Whether it is true or not is an entirely different matter (maybe Petr can come by and throw cold water on it)! The letter "I" within the code DEI5AS currently does not exist for A64's and would indicate perhaps a lower than normal maximum T Die temperature if it were true!
Also states FX55 will be 130nm - nothing new there and also 939's at 90nm will initially be 3000+ and 3200+. Hope this turn outs to be true, I am definitely interested in a 3200+ if it is genuine!

Last edited by OC Detective; 09-09-04 at 03:44 AM.
OC Detective is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 05:50 AM   #2
DanIdentity
Member



Join Date: May 2004

 
I hope they come out in October like has been speculated.
DanIdentity is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 07:01 AM   #3
Mdogs444
Member

 
Mdogs444's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Columbus, OH

 
I dont trust anything that show intent of a "blackmartket"

__________________
My HEATWARE 31-0 :attn:

NEW BUILD ON THE WAY!
Mdogs444 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 08:12 AM Thread Starter   #4
OC Detective
Member

 
OC Detective's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malaysia

 
I wonder if AMD will just do a soft launch of the 90nm 939's, (especially if its just lower frequency ones such as the 3000 and 3200+, with nobody actually knowing until they appear in the channels? Might even appear this month!
OC Detective is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 12:05 PM   #5
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by OC Detective
Might even appear this month!
It will.

No soft launch either.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 12:55 PM   #6
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
fx-55 on 130nm and 90nm starting at 3000-3200+ sounds to me like they are having the same troubles with 90nm as intel and ibm are.

why make the fx-55 130nm if you have no problems making a 2.6ghz 90nm chip?

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 12:58 PM   #7
DanIdentity
Member



Join Date: May 2004

 
So when is the 4000+ coming?
DanIdentity is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 02:06 PM   #8
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
My $ is on Athlon64 4000+ being a Q4 2004 130 nm part.

Also, there'll probably be

no 130nm 3000+/3200+ Athlon64 parts,
yes 90nm 3000+/3200+ Athlon64s which we'll see by the end of the month.

There will be no such thing as Socekt 939 4000+ 939 with 1MB of L2 cache. When it gets eventualy released in 2005, it will have 512 KB L2 cache.

130nm Athlon 64 FX-55 at 2.6 GHz was always rumored to be coming in October 2004. Even AMD official CPU roadmap has only 130 nm Athlon 64 FX parts in 2004.

90nm Athlon 64 FX was never rumored to be here before 2005.

Today is Sep 09, 2004

EDIT:
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627
There will be no such thing as Socket 939 4000+ 939 with 1MB of L2 cache. When it gets eventualy released in 2005, it will have 512 KB L2 cache.
The 90nm 4000+ will be released in 2005 but that doesn't mean that there won't be a 130nm Newcastle 4000+ in 2004.

What I meant to say is there'll be a SH7-CG 2.6 GHz / 512kB 130nm 4000+ which may have 1 MB cache but 1/2 will be disabled so it'll effectively have 512 KB cache.

Last edited by c627627; 09-09-04 at 09:03 PM.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 03:29 PM   #9
K4mui
Member

 
K4mui's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hessen, Germany

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627
There will be no such thing as Socekt 939 4000+ 939 with 1MB of L2 cache.
And then it would be right again, according to AMD they only want one CPU with the full meg of ˛Cache (on the normal sockets, of course Opteron will always have 1MB ˛Cache, maybe even more in the future, but unlikly I think)
K4mui is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 03:48 PM   #10
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Dual Core Opterons will have 2 MB of cache in 2006.
...and so will desktop Toledo.

Last edited by c627627; 09-09-04 at 10:21 PM.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 05:30 PM   #11
K4mui
Member

 
K4mui's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hessen, Germany

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627
Dual Core Opterons will have 2 MB of cache in 2006.
Uh, I didn't know that- thank you! (I'm not really into Opterons, but thanks for that correction again)

I actually do not think AMD will wait until 2005 to release 90nm, maybe they are closer to ship them than we all think. I mean, I doubt that they will make that much commercial about it as intel did, maybe they are nearly out- however, I'm looking forward to it.

But first we'll have the "e- stepping" of A64, and I want to see if it has strained SOI
K4mui is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 06:00 PM   #12
Petr
Member



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Prague, Czech Republic, European Union

 
Revisions:
CG = 130nm
D0 = 90nm
E = dual core

FX55 on SH7-CG is sure thing, we knew that for months. The SH8-D0 core is now available only for Opterons, I really don't know why not for FXs.

The 4000+... well, originaly it was planed as DH8-D0 core (Winchester) at 2.6 GHz but CPU-Z screenshot posted on Xtremesystems shows it as 2.4 GHz / 1MB L2 SH7-CG. Considering BrandID matches on that screenshot to A64 (and not FX) this is possible. But still it may be a prototype, originally there was a plan for 3600+ s939 at 2.2 GHz / 1MB that was later changed to 2.4 GHz / 512kB and renamed to 3700+ and then later renamed to 3800+. As far as I know AMD plans were for 1MB cache only for FXs and all A64s were supposed to have 512kB only. Such a change must mean it is an early prototype or AMD has problems with 90nm reaching high clock speeds. In fact all AMD people I spoke with about this were surprised.
Petr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 09:48 PM   #13
shard
Member

 
shard's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: You Should Make a Wish!

 
so basicly 90nm will still be only s939? or are we going to luck out and have them in s754 format also?

__________________
Intel i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz
X-Mystique DDL Surround Soundcard 7.1
Harman Kardon AVR 135 | JBL E30 Pair | BIC F3 Center | Dayton Reference 12" 4cu ft box
Gigabyte Z77-D3H
G. Skill DD3 1600 8gb
EVGA 670 GTX | Asus VE248H 24" Widescreen LCD
Corsair 750TX 750w PSU
shard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 10:21 PM   #14
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
There wont be socket 754 90nm chips and there won't be any Socket A chips beyond Athlon XP 3200+.

90nm Athlon 64 3000+ and Athlon 64 3200+ Socket 939 Winchesters are coming this month, and then even the Semprons will switch over to Socket 939.

They're going to eventually figure out how to scale Winchesters beyond 4000+. This will happen in 2005 and then it'll be on to Socket 900 dual core DDR II 2MB cache Toledo in 2006.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 10:52 PM   #15
shard
Member

 
shard's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: You Should Make a Wish!

 
DFI definatly fubared it then! lol but i take it that the 3000+ and 3200+ will be reasonabley priced? if so, then its time to go s939, well for me, time to change my plans. lol

__________________
Intel i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz
X-Mystique DDL Surround Soundcard 7.1
Harman Kardon AVR 135 | JBL E30 Pair | BIC F3 Center | Dayton Reference 12" 4cu ft box
Gigabyte Z77-D3H
G. Skill DD3 1600 8gb
EVGA 670 GTX | Asus VE248H 24" Widescreen LCD
Corsair 750TX 750w PSU
shard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-09-04, 11:01 PM   #16
@md0Cer

 
@md0Cer's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver, CO

 
Where did you hear Sempron will switch over to Socket 939? I do not keep up with this stuff that well and wondered where you get your information.

From what I understand, is that Sempron will be Socket 462 as a Thornton, then Socket 754 as Paris with 256KL2 as well, but the 90nm Sempron will still be Socket 754, but may have 512K of L2, Palermo.

But...it would be cheaper for AMD to standardize everything into 939, then they could give Sempron dual channel memory, but instead of 512K, only 256K L2. Or if needed, they could make it a 939 CPU, put only have a single channel core and the extra pins do nothing. It is a theory....

EDIT: Here it is:
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/..._11603,00.html
Quote:
AMD Sempron™ Processor Overview
The AMD Sempron™ processor performs at the top of its class when running the home and business applications that you need most. The AMD Sempron™ processor’s full-featured capabilities can include HyperTransport™ technology, up to 512k total high-performance cache, advanced 333Mhz front-side bus, 3DNow! Professional technology, and an integrated DDR memory controller.
Since Thornton and Paris are 256K, the only one left is the upcoming 90nm Palermo that could possibly have 512K.

Now..if it was 939 and dual channel...and had 512k....the only difference it would have from the 90nm version of Newcastle would be that it does not have any 64bit support.

__________________
Current System:
XP 1700+ DLT3C 0310 XPMW 185X13.5 = 2.5GHz 1.875Vcore
Thermalright SLK-900A
Abit KD7 Via KT400 5:2:1 divider PCI: 37Mhz AGP:92.5Mhz
3X256+512=1278MB RAM assortment 185Mhz 2.95Vdimm
ATi Radeon X700 Pro 256mb Core:435Mhz Ram: 475Mhz
Forton 400 watt PSU
Black Cheiftec Dragon full side window

Folding User Stats
@md0Cer is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-10-04, 12:05 AM   #17
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-10-04, 12:56 AM Thread Starter   #18
OC Detective
Member

 
OC Detective's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malaysia

 
You will get 90nm socket 754 cpus.....
But they wont be desktop they will be mobile A64's and Semprons.
OC Detective is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-10-04, 02:43 AM   #19
shard
Member

 
shard's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: You Should Make a Wish!

 
yeah, mobiles.

__________________
Intel i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz
X-Mystique DDL Surround Soundcard 7.1
Harman Kardon AVR 135 | JBL E30 Pair | BIC F3 Center | Dayton Reference 12" 4cu ft box
Gigabyte Z77-D3H
G. Skill DD3 1600 8gb
EVGA 670 GTX | Asus VE248H 24" Widescreen LCD
Corsair 750TX 750w PSU
shard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-10-04, 04:03 AM   #20
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
yeah, but the new DFI boards are supposed to support mobiles so we might still get to use 90nm Socket 754 chips on a desktop

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?