Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

dual xeons and clock speed diff

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-04, 02:35 PM Thread Starter   #1
clockless
Member



Join Date: Aug 2004

 
dual xeons and clock speed diff


can you run 2 diffrent clock speeds like a 500 mhz xeon and a 750mhz or will that not work?
clockless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-16-04, 07:43 PM   #2
mateo
Member



Join Date: Dec 2002

 
It's not good practice to run two processors at different speeds in SMP in any case- I've heard of times when its worked, but I don't think its guaranteed. P4-gen Xeons can match frequencies because their multis are unlocked downwardly, but I don't think P3 Xeons can do that. Conjecture, yes, but thats the basic idea behind it all- now its just a trick to find if their multipliers are indeed unlocked.
mateo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-04, 03:38 PM   #3
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
It will work but the CPUs will operate at 500MHz. As mentioned Xeons have multipliers unlocked downwards so the 750MHz Xeon will reduce its speed to run at 500MHz.

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-18-04, 10:57 AM   #4
mateo
Member



Join Date: Dec 2002

 
Did not know that applied to the older generations. Thanks, David
mateo is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?