Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

overclocking a duron 900

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-01-01, 01:17 AM Thread Starter   #1
xanthan
Disabled

 
xanthan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: paradise, ca

 
overclocking a duron 900


Greetings, i know what to do to overclock a cpu but am curious as to what temps i should stay under when i do it hehe.

just got a duron 900 and a fic az11e for an incredible 89 bucks at fry's and want to mess around a bit.

thanks, Xan.
xanthan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-01-01, 01:43 AM Thread Starter   #2
xanthan
Disabled

 
xanthan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: paradise, ca

 
doh forgot to ask one thing, has anyone overlcocked a duron 900 ? would appreciate any results, cautions, etc..

thanks, Xan.
xanthan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-01-01, 02:26 AM   #3
Basher
Senior Member

 
Basher's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Mt. Pleasant Pennsylvania

 
under 50C is best but upto 60C can be stable

__________________
Crunch on!!!!
Morgan Duron 1g @ ? PIII 667 @ 700
Authenic TC XP 1500+ at 1620

The Only Seti Team to Crunch For
Basher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-01-01, 10:01 AM   #4
n2
Member

 
n2's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NY

10 Year Badge
 
i disagree...
i have not seen a duron stable above 48*C
try for under 40*C and 48 max at load.

caution... hmm, carefull with heatsink mount/dismount
cores are REALLY FRAGILE... no probs here, and i'm never real cautious but i've read stories, k

umm... i have gotten a 800 to 1024 but not cool enough for me.
the summer has been hot, so i have left it at 924
<i think? its all stock settings but fsb is 112 or 115>
to keep it happy and me less stressed. reinstalls suck.
winter will bring an Athlon and i'll be back to hardcore pushin'

these chips perform great, and just upping FSB to 112 or 115 gives a nice boost...

the problem here is the mobo
it's not a good O/C'er from what i've read... the FIC AZ series.
the AZ11"e" is supposed to be some improvement...

bottom line is,
i'm not sure you'll be able to get higher than a fsb bump....
and how stable she'll run higher,
or if you can alter vcore and multiplier....
or what success you'll have, but i wish you luck!

i think its a good start, and something to play with, for a extremely decent price.... just don't expect too much of an O/C and i dont think you'll be dissappointed.
personally, i would buy that deal if FRYs was in NY

__________________
HeatWare
n2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-01-01, 10:16 AM Thread Starter   #5
xanthan
Disabled

 
xanthan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: paradise, ca

 
im running it at 105x9 and the cpu temp is 42c after folding for over an hour, guess ill try a lil more.

thank you for he info

Xan
xanthan is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?