Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Matt Don't Like BSODS

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-04, 11:26 AM Thread Starter   #1
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
Matt Don't Like BSODS


got the IRQ is not less than equal BSOD. Happened 4 times in 3 days.
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-04, 12:15 PM   #2
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Run Memtest86+ on your RAM...

http://www.memtest.org

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-04, 07:16 PM Thread Starter   #3
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
each stick was ran for at least 2hrs, and no errors recieved
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-04, 08:31 PM   #4
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Just a shot in the dark, but do you happen to have Backup Exec installed?

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-04, 08:40 PM Thread Starter   #5
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
yeah why?
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-04, 09:12 PM   #6
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Is it the latest v9.1 of the software? If not, I would suggest either uninstalling or upgrading it...especially if you have SP2 installed.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-04, 10:21 PM Thread Starter   #7
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
we are talking about MS Backup program right? How do I upgrade it?
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-04, 10:24 PM   #8
kurisu
Member

 
kurisu's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hagerstown, Maryland

 
Try memtest for at least 12 hours - 24 hours.
kurisu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-04, 10:29 PM Thread Starter   #9
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
what proof do you have that 5 hrs vs 24hrs? I don't see the point, so prove me wrong
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-04, 10:38 PM   #10
kurisu
Member

 
kurisu's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hagerstown, Maryland

 
I'm just trying to help. I've heard of people not recieving memtest errors all the way till the 23rd hour. Most recommendations from the trusted people on this forum say at least 12 - 24 hours. Take it with a grain of salt if ye wish..
kurisu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-04, 10:42 PM Thread Starter   #11
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
sorry that came off harsh, just never heard it before. Frankly I don't have that much time to have my computer down need it for school. No offense meant. If it comes to that I will try, but right now, I don't have the time.
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-04, 10:48 PM   #12
dreIU
Member

 
dreIU's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bloomington, IN

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicecca112
sorry that came off harsh, just never heard it before. Frankly I don't have that much time to have my computer down need it for school. No offense meant. If it comes to that I will try, but right now, I don't have the time.
I also have heard that testing it longer proves to be more effective... I at least try to do it for at least 12 hours (just let it do its thing overnight). Think of it like prim95 (which I reccomend running for 24hrs), I have had an error after 23 hours on my previous setup.
dreIU is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-04, 11:08 PM   #13
The_Jizzler
Member

 
The_Jizzler's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: To the Moon

 
yes, at each pass, memtest is testing a section of your ram. i cant remember what the numbers are but IIRC it takes about 16hrs??? to fully test a gig of ram. its just the way it works.
The_Jizzler is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?