Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Need help.. plan not working.. (physics/pressure/problem?)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-02-04, 11:23 AM Thread Starter   #1
metasparks
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: in da coochie!

 
Need help.. plan not working.. (physics/pressure/problem?)


Hello everyone. Thanks for checking this thread out. I have been assembling a watercooling unit with my spare time all summer and had what I thought a great plan for removing the water from the loop without having to turn the computer upside down or disconnect any hoses or anything.

If you check the picture below, that is basically my set up.

The heatercore is set up vertically in an internal box along with the pump. The reservoir is up at top just as you see in the picture. I created a Y-adapter that allows me to have either one of the two outlets either on or off (both can be on, both can be off, or one of each can be on while the other is off).

The components I used were:

CPU - MCW6002-A - 1/2 barbs
NB - Danger Dan Maze4 - 1/2 barbs
GPU - MCW50 with 1/2 barb adapters
RAD - 77' pontiac bonneville heatercore (no a/c)
Pump - AquaXtreme 50Z-DC12 from Cooltechnica.com with 1/2 barb fittings.
Pump specs - Maximum Head - 10.5FT, Maximum Discharge 185GPH


So the problem is that the loop operates fine when I don't have the Y-adapter going to the bucket. But when I want to empty the loop, switching the Y-adapter from the heatercore to the bucket while the reservoir is full doesn't do what I expected.

I expected it to have the pump pump water from the water left in the loop all the way from the heatercore, around the cpu, gpu, nb, up in to reservoir with the water in there, down back to the pump, out through the hose into the bucket.

However, this doesn't happen.

When I do the switch on the Y-adapter, it will spill out of the hose with inital force for like 3 seconds, and then it will go down to a drizzle, although the reservoir does empty at the top and the pump sucks the water from the tube that goes from the res to the pump. But it leaves water in the CPU/GPU/NB loop and in the heatercore.

Why doesn't the vacuum work where the pump will suck all the water out of the loop and heatercore before emptying out the reservoir ???

I thought this would work and was told it would! Hopefully you can help with any ideas!

metasparks is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-04, 01:04 PM   #2
SysCrusher
Member

 
SysCrusher's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida

 
You ever looked under your sink counter and noticed the U in the drain. That's what you got going on there.
SysCrusher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-04, 02:08 PM   #3
joelkyr
Member

 
joelkyr's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ARIZONA

 
Try disabling the line from pump to heatcore and tape the line and the heatcore inlet, make sure the the reservoir cap is tightly closed and so as the funnel cap.
joelkyr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-04, 02:26 PM   #4
Guderian
Member

 
Guderian's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ft Worth - Texas

 
Does the Y act as a valve, or is it a plain hollow Y?

If its a valve, you need to give the loop someplace to take in air, and the closer to the Y the better.... though you won't drain the whole loop due to gravity.

__________________

Gigabyte 7N400-Pro2 | +2500 @ 2.2Ghz | 1.70 vCore | Radeon 9600 stock
Lian-Li PC 60 | 512 Kingston 2-2-2-6 | Swiftech 5002 and MCW20
FEDCO 2-302 | Cardboard Shroud | 2 Delta 120's @ 7v | Eheim 1250

Last edited by Guderian; 10-02-04 at 02:33 PM. Reason: spellin'
Guderian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-02-04, 02:31 PM   #5
Aphex_Tom_9
Member

 
Aphex_Tom_9's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY (Long Island)

 
oh i see what's going on...when you start pumping the water out, the res will empty, but the water will remain in the rest of the system because there's no suction. waterpumps cant move air.

__________________

MONOLITH - Xeon W3540 (testing) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower New 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT - XSPC 360
Hack1nt0sh - Core2Duo E4600 (11x335 : 3685) - 4 GB G.Skill (894) - HD 3850 (810/2120)- Asus P5W DH - OSX86 10.5.1 / Win 7
MacBook Pro - i7 2.66 - 4 GB - GT 330M - OSX 10.6.4

Opty 148 3504mhz
Core2Duo 3917mhz
Aphex_Tom_9 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?