• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Setting AGP aperture size

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
In the Bios, most motherboards have a setting that can be changed from 16MB to 256MB. With a card that has 256 MB of on board DDR, 64 is probably all you'll need. The only time that's not enough is when the 32-bit chunks of graphical data, rather than ATi's 24-bit, overwhelms the on-board memory and has to be pushed to system memory. While nVidia cards usually require a larger apeture size than ATi's, 64 is probably enough.

yeah.. i had the same question.. you can see my whole specs below. i guess if 64 is a good enough AAS for his system.. its good enough for me. I had it set at 256, but i guess i'll turn it down.

I have a 128MBATi Radeon 9000 Pro and 64mb works fine for me. I might even go lower. With your 256MB card, I wouldn't think you would need an AGP aperature higher than 64MB. :cool:

the more memory you have onboard, the smaller your apeture needs to be. if you only have 128 MB on video memory, 128 may be a good idea. try different sizes and running something like 3dmark to see what gives you the best results.

@md0Cer said:
I have a 128MBATi Radeon 9000 Pro and 64mb works fine for me. I might even go lower. With your 256MB card, I wouldn't think you would need an AGP aperature higher than 64MB. :cool:

Anything lower than 64 will disable AGP altogether If I remember correctly.
It could be 32 but I think it's 64.

I dont go by that.If you have 512mb's of system memory,that takes half of it away for video textures that the 256mb 6800gt already has.If you have less than 512mb's it leaves you with virtually nothing for system ram.I wouldnt go higher than 128 on the aperture.