Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Backup software doesn't see my SATA Drives, HELP!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-04, 11:36 AM Thread Starter   #1
EagleClaw
Member

 
EagleClaw's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: WI

 
Backup software doesn't see my SATA Drives, HELP!


I have been a long time user of Acronis True Image. I got a new computer last week and right away I formated and put XP Pro SP1 on. Then as I usually do I installed Acronis and made a backup from within XP.
All went fine, then I botted with the rescue CD I made and it doesn't see my hard drives, more specifically it will lock up when it searches for them.

I have contacted Acronis Tech and they haven't replied yet.

I also tried every version of 8.0 builds I have and none work.

I have searched other forums and no one has an answer, some builds do work with some RAID controlers but that is it.

My controler is "Serial ATA by Promise 20378" setup in "non" RAID. Motherboard is a Asus AV8 Deluxe.

What other backup software is out there that works like acronis and will let me use a bootable CD (or diskett) and is able to see my controler?

thanks
EagleClaw is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-04, 11:40 AM   #2
Absolute Zero
Member

 
Absolute Zero's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003

 
Perhaps Acronis can't work with the A8V's Promise controller because of driver issues. I use VIA's SATA on my A8V. Promise has poor linux support, so it wouldn't suprise me if certain programs can't utilize it in Windows. The VIA RAID controller just has better support.
Absolute Zero is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-04, 12:17 PM Thread Starter   #3
EagleClaw
Member

 
EagleClaw's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: WI

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Absolute Zero
Perhaps Acronis can't work with the A8V's Promise controller because of driver issues. I use VIA's SATA on my A8V. Promise has poor linux support, so it wouldn't suprise me if certain programs can't utilize it in Windows. The VIA RAID controller just has better support.

Would it be as simple as plugging my drives into the VIA plugs and turning it on in the bios?

I am not running a RAID setup just "2" SATA drives.


thanks
EagleClaw is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-03-04, 01:18 PM   #4
Absolute Zero
Member

 
Absolute Zero's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003

 
No, if you're going to change something as fundamental as a RAID controller, it would be a good idea to re-install. Writing two different drivers on top of each other is usually not a good idea. It's like installing a new CPU and mainboard without re-formatting. You could try, because Windows has excellent driver support, but I would not be suprised if it didn't work. If it's worth that much to you, you could try a different program, such as deep freeze or Norton's Ghost that may support the Promise controllers.
Absolute Zero is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?