Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

refilling ?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-04, 03:15 PM Thread Starter   #1
sterVin
Member

 
sterVin's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California, USA

 
refilling ?


How often do you guys have to refill your loop with water? I have to put in a gallon of distilled water every two to three days and it seems kinda..... much. Whenever my mom goes into town I ask her to buy me another gallon or so of distilled water..






oh, Im using evaporative cooling, just incase anyone wanted to know

__________________
"I always told you this job would be great if it weren't for the customers.." -Randal
Amd Mobile 2600+ @ 2600mhz, Abit NF-7, Sapphire 9800 pro oh, and its watercooled..
Special thanks to Qualhiveldorf, Roby, Chim, Brent, & Justin, all members of the sterVin folding team
sterVin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-04-04, 03:17 PM   #2
Section8
Member

 
Section8's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

 
Wow at first I was like this must be a joke or your room is flooding fast...LOL

__________________

Intel Core i7-2600K---> Koolance 370, HWLabs GTX240, D5 Vario
3 X EVGA 480 GTX SC watercooled--> VID-NX480 blocks, HWLabs GTX 480, D5 Vario, Koolance RP-452X2
Corsair 800D
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD7-B3 MB
SILVERSTONE ST1500 1500W PSU
16G CORSAIR DOMINATOR-GT (4 x 4GB) PC3 12800
2 X Kingston HyperX SH100S3B/120G SATA 3 in RAID 0
1 X OCZ Vertex 120G, 1 X WD Caviar Black 1TB
Dell 3007 WFP-HC
Z-5500's
Windows 7 64bit
Section8 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-04-04, 03:20 PM   #3
SnowRider
Member

 
SnowRider's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Cali, USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Section8
Wow at first I was like this must be a joke or your room is flooding fast...LOL
HAHAHA, same here, I'm like "I think you have a leakage problem buddy" lol

You might get more answers posting in the "Extreme Cooling" forum?

*Edit* - My bad, I guess this is the best forum for your question .

Last edited by SnowRider; 10-04-04 at 03:53 PM.
SnowRider is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-04-04, 03:52 PM   #4
Aphex_Tom_9
Member

 
Aphex_Tom_9's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY (Long Island)

 
well the question is simple enough, how often do us semi-closed loop (res or t-line) people have to add water to the loop. id say every few weeks you should top off your reservoir with a splash of water, thats about it. evaporative cooling uses up a LOT more water than a standard wc loop

__________________

MONOLITH - Xeon W3540 (testing) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower New 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT - XSPC 360
Hack1nt0sh - Core2Duo E4600 (11x335 : 3685) - 4 GB G.Skill (894) - HD 3850 (810/2120)- Asus P5W DH - OSX86 10.5.1 / Win 7
MacBook Pro - i7 2.66 - 4 GB - GT 330M - OSX 10.6.4

Opty 148 3504mhz
Core2Duo 3917mhz
Aphex_Tom_9 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-04-04, 05:32 PM Thread Starter   #5
sterVin
Member

 
sterVin's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California, USA

 
ok, I figured as much, but I wasnt really sure. I guess thats what I get for having "passive" watercooling..

I was wondering because I might go to a semi closed loop and didnt want to have to spend all the $$ on water (its not that bad of a cost tho, and worth it none-the-less)

__________________
"I always told you this job would be great if it weren't for the customers.." -Randal
Amd Mobile 2600+ @ 2600mhz, Abit NF-7, Sapphire 9800 pro oh, and its watercooled..
Special thanks to Qualhiveldorf, Roby, Chim, Brent, & Justin, all members of the sterVin folding team
sterVin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-04-04, 10:14 PM   #6
Alacritan
Member

 
Alacritan's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kingston, NY

 
Hahaha...I thought to myself....where is the water going? But then I kept reading.

I suppose it would depend upon the humidity level in your house, so if you run an air conditioner or dehumidifier, it'll evaporate VERY quickly, and the surface area of your evaporation stuff will also have an impact, but you're going to use quite a lot no matter what. If you had gone for a closed system you could go months without refilling.
Alacritan is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?