• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

UGH... thought i'd share this

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

blackpaladin

well, I'm a student here at RIT, and they have this program here for CE and CS students where we can Dl or ship free software to students in those majors. I'm in CE, so i get in on this stuff. Anyway, one of the things i get is Win xp PRO. So i DL that, and burn the ISO to a disc. i copy all my files that i want to keep over to my big 250 maxtor drive, and i totally reformatted my boot up drive since there was so much junk on there. I install windows in like 10 minutes (which really scared me :D ). I log on after its done, and guess what... IT DOESNT SEE ANYTHING ON MY 250 DRIVE! I tried uninstalling the conections an stuff so maybe it would detect the drive and all the files... well i finally got some programs for data recovery, and they finally see all the files... im currently in the midst of scanning my 250 drive sector by sector, to recover all the files and get windows to recognize it all.... this is so annoying... and btw, if this ever happens to you, do a google on a little program called getdataback. it works really well, and its what im using right now to get my stuff back :) it just takes forever :( :temper:

WOW, thank's, mate. I just reformatted yesterday and accidentally unformatted my 160... I didn't format it yet as I've been looking for a good program to use. Oh, sorry about that - it sucks I know.