Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Neo2 Platinum Temps

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-04, 01:54 PM Thread Starter   #1
Osirus
Member

 
Osirus's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Check your Six...

 
Neo2 Platinum Temps


Ok, I was ripping a dvd lastnight on my desktop, just to see how long it would take.
Well I opened up the CORE Center from MSI and looked at the temps, at full load on the CPU my temps from CORE where around 55C. It idle's around 40-42C (depeing how cold my room is)

Are these temps normal? or are they off by a certin number of degree's?

my setup is
A64 3000+ oc'd at 2.5 (atm)
Cooling - custom watercooling.

I want to think my temps are off for the simple fact when I ran my Intel setup, 3.0E @ 3.75 my temps NEVER hit 50C

Thanks!

__________________
HP dv8300us Media Center Lappy
Osirus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 10-25-04, 11:00 PM   #2
cmitchellfly
Member



Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: My office at Flight Level 370

 
Try MBM 5. When looked at the temps in CORE Center they seemed incorrect (high) compared to MBM 5 and BIOS temps.
cmitchellfly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-04, 11:09 PM   #3
Vengance_01
Member

 
Vengance_01's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Corona, CA

10 Year Badge
 
I have about the same problem, bit better temps, but its funny, I stop full load with folding and get a massive 14C drop from around 47-48 to 33-34C, but I start up again after 30 mins of idle, it jumps 5-6C right away(10 secs) and then again another 4-5C again right away. I think its reading the diode. BTW I have MSI K8N Neo plat with my A64@2.48GHZ 1.75volts
Vengance_01 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-27-04, 11:02 PM   #4
ddawson
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Mateo

 
Same here at about 39-42 idle. At load it's 49-50 on water with stock volts so far.

I'm using MBM as well.

__________________
Silverstone TJ07
Intel Core i7 920 D0 batch 3845
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 0406 Bios
BFG GTX285 OCXE
Sound Blaster X-Fi
OCZ GameXStream 850W PS
Dell 24" LCD Widescreen
CORSAIR XMS3 6GB, 2 x 74GB WD SATA 10K Raptor
300GB Seagate Barracuda
Plextor PX-716A DVD+/-RW
H20 Cooled, Heatkiller Rev3, MCP655, DangerDen Res, Thermochill PA120.3 Radiator
ddawson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-27-04, 11:19 PM Thread Starter   #5
Osirus
Member

 
Osirus's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Check your Six...

 
What diode's and settings are you using? When I tried to load up MBM, I didnt even find the mobo on there.

__________________
HP dv8300us Media Center Lappy
Osirus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-04, 03:30 PM   #6
ddawson
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Mateo

 
I used the K8N Neo Platinum profile. I installed the MSI Core Center and the temps were the same.

Dan

__________________
Silverstone TJ07
Intel Core i7 920 D0 batch 3845
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 0406 Bios
BFG GTX285 OCXE
Sound Blaster X-Fi
OCZ GameXStream 850W PS
Dell 24" LCD Widescreen
CORSAIR XMS3 6GB, 2 x 74GB WD SATA 10K Raptor
300GB Seagate Barracuda
Plextor PX-716A DVD+/-RW
H20 Cooled, Heatkiller Rev3, MCP655, DangerDen Res, Thermochill PA120.3 Radiator
ddawson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-04, 07:13 PM Thread Starter   #7
Osirus
Member

 
Osirus's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Check your Six...

 
yeah I used the same, with MBM and CoreCenter, the temps very within 2-3c.

__________________
HP dv8300us Media Center Lappy
Osirus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-04, 08:26 PM   #8
Genetic
Registered

 
Genetic's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jupter, Florida

 
maybe a bios update might fix the temp problem? who knows..always problems with the damned temp sensors on mobos, its a never ending glitch, and no one can ever prove which is right? the bios or MBM (or core)?
Genetic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-29-04, 08:28 PM Thread Starter   #9
Osirus
Member

 
Osirus's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Check your Six...

 
well Im using the latest 1.3 bios.. well as long as its in the high 30's, im good.

__________________
HP dv8300us Media Center Lappy
Osirus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-31-04, 03:14 PM   #10
Sucka
Member

 
Sucka's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Denver, CO

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osirus
Ok, I was ripping a dvd lastnight on my desktop, just to see how long it would take.
Well I opened up the CORE Center from MSI and looked at the temps, at full load on the CPU my temps from CORE where around 55C. It idle's around 40-42C (depeing how cold my room is)

Are these temps normal? or are they off by a certin number of degree's?

my setup is
A64 3000+ oc'd at 2.5 (atm)
Cooling - custom watercooling.

I want to think my temps are off for the simple fact when I ran my Intel setup, 3.0E @ 3.75 my temps NEVER hit 50C

Thanks!
I don't trust the temps for MSI at all, it has my system temp at like 8C.....my room doesn't even get that cool. And my CPU temps vary so much with/without load i can't get an accurate reading. I'm on a stock FX-53 cooler for my FX-55 and it has my temps at 33-40C tops.....somehow i highly doubt that's correct.

__________________
DFI SLI-DR | Opteron 170 | 2x512 G.Skill LE | x1900XTX | 2x250GB T7K250 RAID 0 | PCP&C 510 SLI | X-Fi | Dell 2007FPW
Laptop | Dell E1405 | Core Duo 2 Merom T7200 | 2GB DDR2 | Intel 950GM | 120GB HD | 14.1 in. WXGA+ Truelife | XP Pro

Heatware
Sucka is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?