Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

which fortron 550 or 530

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-01-04, 09:37 AM Thread Starter   #1
s002wjh
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
which fortron 550 or 530


I like to know which one of these fortron PSU is more reliable and better

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-968&depa=0

or

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-982&depa=0
s002wjh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-04, 09:52 AM   #2
enduro
Member

 
enduro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Montgomery Alabama Yall

 
What are you going to be using it on? Given several of the most recent threads, the Fortrons, Antecs, and other psu's now don't supply enough amperage on the 12V rail to support a A64 setup. So if you plan on going A64 anytime soon, pick up a OCZ Powerstream 470 or 520W. Both have double the amperage of the Fortron. Otherwise, I own the Fortron 530W, and it works great. Haven't had to adjust my rails yet, because they are still rock steady.
enduro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-04, 11:01 AM   #3
Oklahoma Wolf
Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover

 
Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Saskatchewan

10 Year Badge
 
Depends what system you plan to use it with - for really high 12v draws, I'd use the 550w, but for most systems the 530w is more than enough. They're both very sturdy units.

__________________
Asus P8Z68 Pro-V Gen3
2500K w/ Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Inwin GRone, Corsair AX860i
Asus 270X 2GB, Asus 270 2GB
250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 640GB WD Black, 2TB Samsung F4, 3TB Seagate 7200.14
Lite-On iHAS324, LG BH14NS40

BTC: 14FLpVUsBpW2XahPsuWi4DfeBm4V3c5fH6
Oklahoma Wolf is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-04, 11:08 AM   #4
nikhsub1
Unoriginal Macho Moderator

 
nikhsub1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles

10 Year Badge
 
Uhh, the 550W is for dual Xeons only... "Fortron 550W EPS12V PSU, Supports Dual Xeon CPU, Model "FSP550-60PLN" -OEM"

The 530W is the one to get for AMD or P4. I'm sure you could get some adapters for the 550W, but that is a hassle.

__________________
Loading Signature ...
nikhsub1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-04, 03:48 PM Thread Starter   #5
s002wjh
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
I'm using for A64
6800gt
8 high cfm fans
audigy 2
1 gig ram,
so which psu you guys recommand, don't want to spend too much on PSU
s002wjh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-04, 06:09 PM   #6
Oklahoma Wolf
Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover

 
Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Saskatchewan

10 Year Badge
 
Go with the one you can best afford - they will both easily handle the system. The 530's 18a@12v rating is very conservative.

__________________
Asus P8Z68 Pro-V Gen3
2500K w/ Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Inwin GRone, Corsair AX860i
Asus 270X 2GB, Asus 270 2GB
250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 640GB WD Black, 2TB Samsung F4, 3TB Seagate 7200.14
Lite-On iHAS324, LG BH14NS40

BTC: 14FLpVUsBpW2XahPsuWi4DfeBm4V3c5fH6
Oklahoma Wolf is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-04, 08:11 PM   #7
docinthebox
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sunnyvale, California

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by s002wjh
I'm using for A64
6800gt
8 high cfm fans
audigy 2
1 gig ram,
so which psu you guys recommand, don't want to spend too much on PSU
how many hard drives?
docinthebox is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-04, 08:19 PM   #8
Gautam
Senior Benchmark Addict



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hillsboro, OR

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by enduro
Given several of the most recent threads, the Fortrons, Antecs, and other psu's now don't supply enough amperage on the 12V rail to support a A64 setup. So if you plan on going A64 anytime soon, pick up a OCZ Powerstream 470 or 520W
I still call big time BS. My Fortron 530W never lets my +12v go below 12v, and my Clawhammer is even more power hungry than the newer Winchesters, especially along with the level of voltage I feed it.

__________________
El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway
Gautam is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-04, 10:16 PM   #9
Ad Rock

 
Ad Rock's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, PQ, Canada.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gautam
I still call big time BS. My Fortron 530W never lets my +12v go below 12v, and my Clawhammer is even more power hungry than the newer Winchesters, especially along with the level of voltage I feed it.
Good to hear Gautam I was looking into getting one of these PSU's and then the warning of A64 problems kinda scared me. Good to hear the Forton is still the price/performance king.

__________________
"Because of you my lady named fame, people spot me like nerves spot pain."

Heatware:
Ad Rock is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-04, 11:20 PM   #10
enduro
Member

 
enduro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Montgomery Alabama Yall

 
Quote:
I still call big time BS
I'm getting this from Sententials thread. He's having psu problems, and recently purchased the OCZ Powerstream. I'm saying buy that, because you won't have to upgrade your psu at all, for many years. Sen's tried an Antec 430 and 550W, and neither have supplied enough power. That's still up in the air though, because he hasn't recieved his OCZ psu yet. I'm glad to hear the I won't have to upgrade my psu though, I just bought my Fortron about a month ago.

Here's the thread, just read pg 15 on up.
http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.p...&page=15&pp=30
enduro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-01-04, 11:29 PM   #11
Dc5e
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MA

 
I run my dualie on the 550w forton.... but its a EPS powersupply, which is a 24pin connector instead of a 20pin connector. So you'd have to go with the 530w... which is supports standard atx boards. i'm sure the 530w is also a good powersupply.

__________________
Core i7 920 C0 @ 3.8ghz
P6T Deluxe
6gb 1600mhz DDR3
Geforce GTX260 Core216
Dc5e is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-04, 07:50 AM Thread Starter   #12
s002wjh
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
I only got 1 HD, but I could get a 24pin-20pin adapter and use the 550w will that work?
s002wjh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-04, 08:52 AM   #13
ajrettke
Member

 
ajrettke's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dayton. OH

10 Year Badge
 
Hmm...I'd be careful, because IIRC EPS PSU's don't have either the -5 or -12v RAIL...I tried doing a conversion with an antec 500 EPS PSU and I could only get PCI video cards to work and I'm pretty sure it was because there was no -5 or -12v rail.

__________________
i5-3570k @ 4.5ghz WC'd
MSI Z77A-G41
R9 280X
2x4gb PC16000
256GB Samsung 840
Sennheiser HDR-120's
Dell U2713HM
"Computer games don’t affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we’d all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitve electonic dance music..." - Kristian Wilson, Nintendo Inc, 1989
ajrettke is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-04, 03:48 PM Thread Starter   #14
s002wjh
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
okay than a fortron 530 is good enough?? or do I have to spend the extra to buy ocz powerstream
s002wjh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-04, 03:52 PM   #15
Oklahoma Wolf
Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover

 
Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Saskatchewan

10 Year Badge
 
The Fortron 550w has -5 and -12, not that they would even be used by a modern system. The 530w will do fine. No, you don't need to spend extra on the OCZ - they're getting popular, but aren't quite at Fortron levels of build quality yet.

__________________
Asus P8Z68 Pro-V Gen3
2500K w/ Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Inwin GRone, Corsair AX860i
Asus 270X 2GB, Asus 270 2GB
250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 640GB WD Black, 2TB Samsung F4, 3TB Seagate 7200.14
Lite-On iHAS324, LG BH14NS40

BTC: 14FLpVUsBpW2XahPsuWi4DfeBm4V3c5fH6
Oklahoma Wolf is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-04, 01:32 PM   #16
Zeke968
Member

 
Zeke968's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003

 
I had big problems with my FSP-530 and RMA'd it after I think it killed two MSI K8N A64 motherboards. It was awesome with my AthlonXP rig, but the +12V demands of the A64 was too much for it.
Zeke968 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-04, 08:16 AM Thread Starter   #17
s002wjh
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
so the 12V on fortron is not enough for a64? so what PSU I should get OCZ?
s002wjh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-04, 09:14 AM   #18
enduro
Member

 
enduro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Montgomery Alabama Yall

 
Yeah, the OCZ Powerstream 520 or the PCP&C 510. They both have powerful rails.
enduro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-04, 01:28 PM   #19
Bad ConNecTioN
Member



Join Date: Sep 2004

 
Remember, everyone has an oppinion. Some have had great succes with Fortron on many differant systems, while some have had issues.
I personally feel you can't go wrong with Fortron especially for the price.

The new OCZ are nice, but expensive. I would get the new fortron 500 watt that has 30 amps on the 12 line . It also comes sleeved and with easy connect molex connectors.
Bad ConNecTioN is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-04, 04:49 PM   #20
docinthebox
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sunnyvale, California

 
If you need a strong 12V rail, I would get either the Sparkle FSP550-60PLG or the Antec True550-EPS12V. Both have 36A rating on the 12V rail. They're both EPS12V PSUs so get a 24pin to 20pin adapter.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-478&depa=0

http://www.directron.com/antectrue550.html

Make sure you're getting the EPS12V version of the Antec True550, and not the regular ATX12V version of the True550 which only has 24A on the 12V rail.
docinthebox is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?