Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Iexplorer Error

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-04, 10:53 AM Thread Starter   #1
Frost Byte
Member

 
Frost Byte's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001

 
Question Iexplorer Error


I am getting some errors when I open Internet Explorer.

---------------------
IEXPLORER.exe has generated errors and will be closed by Windows. You will need to restart the program.

An error log as been created
---------------------

I don't know where the error log is. Any idea?

Any idea of how to fix this?

Thank guys

__________________
AMD64 3000+
1GB RAM
200GB HDD
9700Pro
----------------------------------------
AMD 1.33 TBird
Dragon Plus
----------------------------------------
Apple AluPowerBook G4 1.25Ghz
512 MB DDR
OS X Panter
Frost Byte is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-08-04, 10:57 AM   #2
nahmus
Member

 
nahmus's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sailing the Azure seas

 
if you are running XP its under administrative tools in control panel

__________________
Shame on the night..... for places i've been and what i've seen... For giving me the strangest dreams - Dio(RIP)
nahmus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-08-04, 10:58 AM Thread Starter   #3
Frost Byte
Member

 
Frost Byte's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001

 
Sorry about that, I'm running 2K.

Is it in the same place?

__________________
AMD64 3000+
1GB RAM
200GB HDD
9700Pro
----------------------------------------
AMD 1.33 TBird
Dragon Plus
----------------------------------------
Apple AluPowerBook G4 1.25Ghz
512 MB DDR
OS X Panter
Frost Byte is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-08-04, 11:08 AM   #4
nahmus
Member

 
nahmus's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sailing the Azure seas

 
Yes. you probably want to look at the event viewer. You will probally end up just re-installing explorer. Before you do that have you scanned for viruses and spyware?

__________________
Shame on the night..... for places i've been and what i've seen... For giving me the strangest dreams - Dio(RIP)
nahmus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-08-04, 11:27 AM   #5
luv2overclock
Reincarnation of Sam's Duck



Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: U.S.A.

 
or you can go to add/remove programs and go through the IE repair process. Worth a shot.
luv2overclock is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-08-04, 08:37 PM   #6
the adam
Member

 
the adam's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Earth

 
well as nahmus said error logs are kept in the event viewer but i wasn't sure if u knew how to get there so here are some instructions. start --> run --> eventvwr.msc Also i would do as nahmus said and scan for spyware and viruses cause when i had spyware i got alot of errors in IE so I ran some anti-spyware stuff and it got rid of it and now i dont get any errors If that doesn't work I would do as others said and reinstall IE.
the adam is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-09-04, 12:03 PM   #7
TeuffelHunden
Member

 
TeuffelHunden's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I move to often to say for sure :)

 
Sounds like a good time to switch to Firefox
TeuffelHunden is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-09-04, 10:33 PM   #8
CrystalMethod
Senior Band Wagon Jumper

 
CrystalMethod's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeuffelHunden
Sounds like a good time to switch to Firefox
That's not really a fix. That's just leaving the problem where it is, and throwwing things at it and hoping the problem goes away. Don't forget IEXPLORER is tied to windows explorer, and installing firefox will just temporarily relive the problem, not fix it.

CrystalMethod is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-09-04, 11:16 PM   #9
TeuffelHunden
Member

 
TeuffelHunden's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I move to often to say for sure :)

 
I was just attemptimg to be humorous. The obvious solution is to reinstall IE. Lighten up and enjoy life a little
TeuffelHunden is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-10-04, 07:07 AM   #10
luv2overclock
Reincarnation of Sam's Duck



Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: U.S.A.

 
Or Repair Internet Explorer. Hello?
luv2overclock is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-10-04, 10:25 AM   #11
nahmus
Member

 
nahmus's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sailing the Azure seas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by luv2overclock
Or Repair Internet Explorer. Hello?
ya the repair option usually works. sometimes I've had to d othe whole download thing which if you are on broadband is not really that bad.

__________________
Shame on the night..... for places i've been and what i've seen... For giving me the strangest dreams - Dio(RIP)
nahmus is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?