Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

The best Socket A board for Overclocking!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-04, 05:43 PM Thread Starter   #1
baberpervez
Member

 
baberpervez's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, Canada

 
The best Socket A board for Overclocking!


Help! My old motherboard fried and I need to get a new one!

I heard the following two are really good but they're rather hard to find.

EPoX 8RDA3+
Abit Ns7 v.2


Can I expect the same results from either? OR is one far superior than the other?

Also are there other boards that are excpetional? I know I could do a search to see if there are any outstandign reviews on them but I'd prefer to get direct feedback from users.

I'm trying to overclock my XP 2200+ to the highest possible speed!

Please help!

__________________
New System: i7 960 @ 3.84 Mhz 1.4v w/H70 - Gigabyte EX58 UD5 Rev 1.0 - 6x2GB OCZ HPC Reaper 19200 @ 1600 Mhz 8-8-8-24 -1T, Triple SLI 3 x ASUS 570GTX- OCZ Vertex2 50GB, 1250W OCZ ZX Series PSU, Antec DF-85 Darkfleet, Psyko 5.1 Carbon

Old System:
A64 3700+ San Diego (939) @2800 Ghz - ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe - Zalman Cu-7700 +AS5 - 2.5 GB OCZ PC4000 GOLD - SLI 2 X BFG 8800GT stock - Maxtor 80 GB -Maxtor 160 GB -WD 37 GB Raptor Drive - 32GB Patriot SSD - Audigy 2 ZS - 2X Altec Lansing 641 - 600 Watt OCZ Modstream - :beer:


"This text is written in orange, be afraid."
baberpervez is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-13-04, 05:48 PM   #2
wizard james
Member

 
wizard james's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: alberta canada calgary SE (come see me..)

 
the nf7-s rev 2 is very good.

theres lots of guides for vott mods and also lapping the northbridge so u can get that extra 10 fsb.

i already own one and am buying another one

__________________
Depot Tech at Tech Squad in Calgary Alberta
Thanks guys for all the donations, if you want to still help, fold for me "wizard_james"
heatware
wizard james is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-13-04, 05:53 PM   #3
Aslan
Member

 
Aslan's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: North Vancouver, Canada

 
The NF7-S v2.0 is a very good choice. I don't think you should have any difficulty in finding this motherboard, as stores such as www.ncix.com and www.vibecomputers.com both have it in stock.

Also, make sure to stay away from the NF7-S2 and NF7-S2G as these two are very limited in their overclocking ability.
Aslan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-13-04, 06:24 PM Thread Starter   #4
baberpervez
Member

 
baberpervez's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, Canada

 
Yes I noticed that about the abit board! NOt to get the two confused!
I'm reading some reviews now and keep u all updated on its performance!

It says it can use dual DRR. It isn't what I think its talking about is it???? :0 Ithought that was only A64?

Help?

__________________
New System: i7 960 @ 3.84 Mhz 1.4v w/H70 - Gigabyte EX58 UD5 Rev 1.0 - 6x2GB OCZ HPC Reaper 19200 @ 1600 Mhz 8-8-8-24 -1T, Triple SLI 3 x ASUS 570GTX- OCZ Vertex2 50GB, 1250W OCZ ZX Series PSU, Antec DF-85 Darkfleet, Psyko 5.1 Carbon

Old System:
A64 3700+ San Diego (939) @2800 Ghz - ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe - Zalman Cu-7700 +AS5 - 2.5 GB OCZ PC4000 GOLD - SLI 2 X BFG 8800GT stock - Maxtor 80 GB -Maxtor 160 GB -WD 37 GB Raptor Drive - 32GB Patriot SSD - Audigy 2 ZS - 2X Altec Lansing 641 - 600 Watt OCZ Modstream - :beer:


"This text is written in orange, be afraid."
baberpervez is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-13-04, 07:51 PM   #5
fateshammer
Member

 
fateshammer's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Alberta, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by baberpervez

It says it can use dual DRR. It isn't what I think its talking about is it???? :0 Ithought that was only A64?

Help?
Dual channel support is a feature of the core logic chipset. The NF7 series has the nForce2 for the northbridge so it is capable of running in dual channel mode, dual channel is not just only for A64's.

__________________

ABIT AV8 v1.1 (BIOS 24)
AMD A64 3200+ (Winchester) CBBHD 0450 UPGW (2.5GHz = 250x10 1.5V)
PDP Patriot XBLK PC3200 2x512 (250MHz 2.5-3-3-7 1T 2.70V)
Coolermaster Hyper6 / AS5
OCZ Powerstream 520W
ELSA Falcox 9800FX Radeon (Flashed to 9800 Pro)415 Core/375 Mem Stock Cooling
Soundblaster Audigy 2
Logitech Z-640 5.1 Surround
ViewSonic A91f+ (19" CRT)
MINOTAUR Custom Case
fateshammer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-13-04, 07:55 PM   #6
Radical
Member



Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: CA

 
The ASUS A7N8X Deluxe is also a great board for overclocking, it can be found at Newegg.
Radical is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?