Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thermaltake 480 butterfly adjustable rails?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-04, 04:55 AM Thread Starter   #1
shuRe
Member

 
shuRe's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK

 
Thermaltake 480 butterfly adjustable rails?


i have the psu in my sig, and am wanting to adjust the 3v rails so i can give my ram a bit more juice. I wondered if any1 knows if these psu's have adjustable rails and how would i go about reading the voltage change without a multimeter?

Thanks
shuRe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-04, 10:49 AM   #2
Nebulous
Seņor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
Nope, no pots in those. Only psu's i know for sure that have pots inside are:

Fortron
Sparkle
TTGI ( has 1 pot)
PC P&C


There might be others, but i dunno about them. Maybe the other guyz here can share that info

Also there's no other sure fire way to measure the rails other than the multimeter method. Measuring voltages with software is not 100% accurate.

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is online now Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-04, 11:52 AM   #3
Xenocide
Member

 
Xenocide's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
ocz powersteam 520 has external pots

__________________
A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.
Xenocide is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-04, 10:36 PM   #4
speed bump
Member

 
speed bump's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montana tech Butte mt.

 
The TT butterflys and silentpowers have adjustable rails this thread has a picture of where they are. However it does not have an adjustable 3.3v rail and frankly I wouldn't worry about the 3.3v rail as much as the 12v rail which will hold back your oc's. Also are you sure your ram will last very long at 3v or more.

Hope this helps

__________________
Big changes coming: Intel e4300, DFI Blood iron, Crucial DDR2-8500, ATI x859xt, MCW-6002>Ehiem 1250>Bip3 with 3 nidec beta Vs, Sunbeam Zorro, Corsair 650 watter
Stuff I should be using but don't: Finally got around to running that stuff.

Ever run a benchmark? support our forums by posting it in the 3dmark team and system benchmarking team sections.
My heatware

Silence may be golden but performance is platinum
speed bump is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?