Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Is 350W sufficient for an Athlon 64 3000+ & 9600XT?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-04, 10:00 AM Thread Starter   #1
smilingcrow
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The belly of the beast (Wales)

 
Is 350W sufficient for an Athlon 64 3000+ & 9600XT?


My nephew is going to have my Athlon 64 3000+ system for a gaming rig. I知 going to swap out the FX5200 for a Radeon 9600XT but I知 wondering if the 350W Antec SL350 in the Antec case is going to be up to the job.

The system comprises of a single Samsung 160 GB 7,200 rpm SATA, Pioneer 16X DVD-RW, PCI Wifi Card.

The reason I知 asking rather than just buying and trying, is that I知 ordering a couple of new cases at the same time. So if the prognosis is baad, I値l order a beefier spec case when I place the order.

Thanks

SC
smilingcrow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-04, 10:05 AM   #2
deception``
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by smilingcrow
My nephew is going to have my Athlon 64 3000+ system for a gaming rig. I知 going to swap out the FX5200 for a Radeon 9600XT but I知 wondering if the 350W Antec SL350 in the Antec case is going to be up to the job.

The system comprises of a single Samsung 160 GB 7,200 rpm SATA, Pioneer 16X DVD-RW, PCI Wifi Card.

The reason I知 asking rather than just buying and trying, is that I知 ordering a couple of new cases at the same time. So if the prognosis is baad, I値l order a beefier spec case when I place the order.

Thanks

SC
It should be ok if you're running the 64 at stock. However, it is HIGHLY recommended that you consider a better power supply here.

deception``
deception`` is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-04, 10:20 AM Thread Starter   #3
smilingcrow
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The belly of the beast (Wales)

 
Thanks Deception ``

I don稚 intend OC段ng the CPU, but I知 wondering about what sort of Graphics card he might want in there in a year or so? I guess there痴 not much headroom for a more power hungry GPU with that set-up.

Crow
smilingcrow is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?