Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

mobo for 5k dual opteron 248

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-04, 09:13 PM Thread Starter   #1
steambeast
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
mobo for 5k dual opteron 248


Looking at dual opteron 248's for a gaming rig. Looking to spend about 5k. Idea's for motherboards?
steambeast is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-04, 09:29 PM   #2
Spec_Ops2087
Member

 
Spec_Ops2087's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ

 
I am sure you have probably read this alot but a dual rig is not mean't for gaming. I also know you are probably saying "I didn't ask for that kind of response you idiot Spec_Ops" however hear me out.

I got a dualie a little while back and it was TOP OF THE LINE for its times. gf4 ti4600 1GB RAM, RAID, and Athlon MP 2000+s. I thought it was going to be great, I got a powerful system for multimedia and power for games. Truth is, for gaming it pretty much does suck. You must use slower memory for it so it is even slower then a single Athlon 2000+ running. Of course I am not sure how opteron's run gaming wise however you may want to reconsider for a new 3Ghz p4 and OC it, that will yeild a perfect gaming rig but a dualie is a terriable gamer really.



Spec

__________________
Rutgers University School of Engineering Class of 2009 Alumni

NAVY
Spec_Ops2087 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-04, 09:37 PM Thread Starter   #3
steambeast
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
I've actually been reading and dual opteron 248's have been blowing out most other systems in the gaming field. I am also going to be using it for rendering maya/max, although modeling done on other computer. Plus illustrator, photoshop, etc. I'm an animator so I kinda want an all encompassing thing. Plus, the 64 bit action. Can't say I quite use it right now, but it's nice to have the ability to access it later.
steambeast is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-04, 09:43 PM   #4
Spec_Ops2087
Member

 
Spec_Ops2087's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ

 
I've never actually seen the gaming performance of them but would love to! As to answer your initial question, I have a MSI board for my duals and I have only had one problem that a simple BIOS flash fixed...otherwise stable as can be motherboard that can be OCed. How much? I am not sure, I always went for stabibility (sp) over speed.



Spec

__________________
Rutgers University School of Engineering Class of 2009 Alumni

NAVY
Spec_Ops2087 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-04, 09:47 PM   #5
disk11

 
disk11's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Charlotte

 
I'd go Iwill as they have several options:

ZMAX:SFF shuttle like case, but not much expansion of course.

DK8X: AMD 81xx chipset with the AGP bridge.

DK8N: NF4 chipset, a lot like the DK8X.

DK8ES: NF4 SLI board, don't think its out yet.

__________________
My Heatware
OCforums Metal Club member # 665
OCforums Musicians Club member # 665
Main/Gaming: i7 920, Noctua U12P-SE, Asrock x58 Extreme, 6GB pc16000 Gskill Pi, Powercolor 7870, 256GB Crucial M500, 160GB Intel 320, Lite-On DVD burner, 600W OCZ modX
File server: AMD e-350, Asus E35M1-M Pro, 4GB Crucial, OCZ Vertex 3 (OS), 3x Toshiba 1TB RAID 5, 2x 2TB WD Green in RAID 1, Antec 900, Corsair 520HX
disk11 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-04, 09:51 PM Thread Starter   #6
steambeast
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
also, curious if there are any boards that have pci-e
steambeast is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-29-04, 10:16 PM   #7
Spec_Ops2087
Member

 
Spec_Ops2087's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ

 
sofar to my knowledge none do. I would guess because PCI-E isn't server oriented more gaming oriented. You find PCI-X's (66mhz or 133mhz PCI versions) on servers not PCI-E. As said before, a dualie is a server not a hardcore gaming rig



Spec

__________________
Rutgers University School of Engineering Class of 2009 Alumni

NAVY
Spec_Ops2087 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 02:51 PM   #8
Mustanley

 
Mustanley's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Asheville, NC (Blue Ridge Mtns)

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by disk11
I'd go Iwill as they have several options:

ZMAX:SFF shuttle like case, but not much expansion of course.

DK8X: AMD 81xx chipset with the AGP bridge.

DK8N: NF4 chipset, a lot like the DK8X.

DK8ES: NF4 SLI board, don't think its out yet.
The DK8N uses the NF3 250 chipset. I'm looking at this for a pair of Opteron 246s. Anyone know anything about this board? It's twice as much as the cheaper dualie Opteron boards, I guess due to the NF3 chipset. Is the NF3 chipset worth it over the AMD and VIA dualie chipsets?

__________________
Q9550 on P5Q-Deluxe(460x8.5=3910MHz), 4x2GB GSkill 1066, 750GB WD Black HD, GTX285(702,1512,2592), Blu-ray, Silverstone OP650, Samsung 1080P 50" Plasma + Dell 2408WFP, MX1000 laser mouse, Saitek backlit keyboard, P182, Xigmatek S1283 Black Knight
Mustanley is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 03:50 PM   #9
disk11

 
disk11's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Charlotte

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustanley
The DK8N uses the NF3 250 chipset. I'm looking at this for a pair of Opteron 246s. Anyone know anything about this board? It's twice as much as the cheaper dualie Opteron boards, I guess due to the NF3 chipset. Is the NF3 chipset worth it over the AMD and VIA dualie chipsets?
Basically it has PCI-X slots that no Via board has. Here's a review for ya: http://www.burningissues.net/hard/DK8N_review/

__________________
My Heatware
OCforums Metal Club member # 665
OCforums Musicians Club member # 665
Main/Gaming: i7 920, Noctua U12P-SE, Asrock x58 Extreme, 6GB pc16000 Gskill Pi, Powercolor 7870, 256GB Crucial M500, 160GB Intel 320, Lite-On DVD burner, 600W OCZ modX
File server: AMD e-350, Asus E35M1-M Pro, 4GB Crucial, OCZ Vertex 3 (OS), 3x Toshiba 1TB RAID 5, 2x 2TB WD Green in RAID 1, Antec 900, Corsair 520HX
disk11 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-04, 06:08 PM   #10
CJ145

 
CJ145's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 

K8W
Tyan's new mobo. Should be out soon. SLI so you can run 2 of the new nvidia gfx cards.

Also IWILL is comming out with a new one. SLI also
DK8ES


__________________
Main Comp (Win 7): ASUS R4E; i7-3930k @ 4.9GHz; G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB @ 2133MHz; Nvidia GTX780; Custom Watercooling
3x Asus VW246H eyefinity; Polk Audio Monitor 40's (L,R), CS10 (C), Klipsch KG^4 (S), Sony STR-DA1000ES; all in a custom built desk


Folding User Stats
CJ145 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-04, 05:47 AM   #11
Redshift
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2003

 
Dual 248's will be no faster than a single FX-51 and might actually be slower in some cases due to the overhead associated with DP systems (the fact that you have to use registered/buffered memory also makes a differece but the FX-51 also had that requirement). Unless the game supports SMP, you aren't going to see any gains from the second processor (unless you like to run tons of stuff, like WinAMP, etc in the background). Some games do support SMP: I was reading somewhere that Tribes Vengeance does. Such games are a small minority, though support should improve as dual core processors become mainstream. If your main thing is gaming: save the money you'd be spending on the DP motherboard and second CPU and get a FX-55, an NF4 SLI board and two GF6800 Ultras. Then get a Prometia MACH2 GT (they are making them again) or a Vapochill XE with some good overclocking RAM and push it past 3.1 GHz (at which point it will slaughter all but the most extreme P4 OCs).

All of that being said, you plan to use other apps for which a DP system is well suited. If you're set on SMP, hold out for the Tyan 2895 (pictured above), as that will allow you to use SLI with two full 16x PCI-E slots (as opposed to 16x/2x on the Iwill DK8ES) and give you more upgrade options in the future. I'd also probably wait for the 90nm Troy core with SSE3 and other improvements, esp. since you will be using apps that can take advantage of it.

Last edited by Redshift; 12-03-04 at 10:20 AM.
Redshift is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?