Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Graphics card upgrade.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-30-04, 10:11 AM Thread Starter   #1
nathaN_
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom(Wales)

 
Graphics card upgrade.


Hi, I'm new to these forums so im sorry a thread similar like this has been posted, i've tried searching.

Basically, I'm getting a ATI x800XT or SE for christmas, and im wondering if it will run on my computer ?

Processor > AMD Athlon 2800+

Motherboard > Asus M848A AMD ( Up to 3200+ )

My power supply unit is around 300? or 250, I;m not hundred percente sure.

All i'd like to know is , will i be able to just fit it in and install drivers, then go, or will my computer blow up ? ;]

Thanks
Nathan
nathaN_ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 10:14 AM Thread Starter   #2
nathaN_
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom(Wales)

 
Also, will it overheat easily ? I only have the basic mobo fan!
nathaN_ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 10:21 AM   #3
alinosa
Member

 
alinosa's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX

10 Year Badge
 
there's a big difference between the XT and the SE. Also, your power supply (if it IS a 300) will not likely power the XT. As long as you have an AGP slot that is compatible with a fx5600 then it should be up to par with the newer agp cards. Since you are going from one GPU brand to another, you should definitely remove the old drivers. (search on here for the right piece of software to remove nvidia drivers) personally, i do a fresh install, but i'm kind of OCD like that. Did you build your box or did you buy it pre-built? I ask becasue it's not likely that your PSU is as small as 300W if you have an athlon 2800 and a fx5600 on it.

Additionally, the XT will be overkill for your current setup, because you only have 512 MB of ram, and your CPU will bottle neck that card to some degree. Are you planning to add anything else to your rig with the new card? (I'd add another 512 stick of RAM at least)

I'm sure i'm forgetting something... i dunno

hope this helps.

__________________
Intel Pentium4 640 @ 4000 MHz (250x16) stock volts
MCP650>BIX3>Cathar Storm G4>MCW60>DangerDen 5.25" Res, tygon 7/16"
pqi turbo ddr400
DFI Lanparty 875P-T
powerstream 520
eVGA 6800U@ 465/1100 on an Acer 22 inch WS LCD
Lian Li PC-G70B
HEAT
Lenovo T61p-> Desktop crushing machine.
alinosa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 10:35 AM Thread Starter   #4
nathaN_
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom(Wales)

 
Yeh, i just checked, it's 350WATT

Also, whats bad about the setup, just the RAM? im getting a extra 256 yeah, hopefully 512, doubt i have enough though.


Is my processor alright?

And, ill be getting it for xmas, so basically, i remove ALL nvidia stuff, then turn pc off, pull card out, insert ATI one in, then install that cards drivers? cheers for help mate
nathaN_ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 10:37 AM Thread Starter   #5
nathaN_
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom(Wales)

 
And just found it, it'll be a XT not SE, not got the money for that
nathaN_ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 10:41 AM Thread Starter   #6
nathaN_
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom(Wales)

 
I dont really wanna format because last time my computer had a massive virus in it, which wouldn't allow me to install XP Pro
nathaN_ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 11:44 AM Thread Starter   #7
nathaN_
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom(Wales)

 
Could someone please help me or add my MSN N4th4N_uk@hotmail.com, i'd like to know since im going for one on thursday, or ordering it
nathaN_ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 12:00 PM   #8
Grov
Disabled



Join Date: May 2004
Location: Uk

 
Ok iam feeling nice today.

Your Processor is ok, not brilliant, but adequate. Though a x800XT would be overkill.

Id reccommend a X800Pro or 6800GT or even a 9800Pro or 6800. If you did this, you could upgrade your memory as well, for a total of 1Gig.

If your from the UK like your addy says, i have loads of good UK sites i use, would be better than whoever is buyign it for xmas being ripped off froma high street store.

What make is your Power Supply. 350Watt should be enough, if it's not, well then you'd have no choice but to upgrade it, or send the card back.

If your going from Nvidia to ATI, you should download a program called Driver Cleaner 3:
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=745

Bascially you uninstall the card from add/remove programs, re-boot use driver cleaner, install ATI drivers, re-boot and bingo.
Grov is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 12:15 PM Thread Starter   #9
nathaN_
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom(Wales)

 
Yeh, k cool

But i would of prefered a decent top of the range card like x800XT, so i dont have to upgrade for a VERY VERY long time.

Connect3D ATI Radeon X800 XT 256MB DDR3 VIVO TV-Out/DVI (AGP) - Retail (GX-023-CO)


Was the one i was thinking of getting..

I not got a clue what make the PSU Is

Ill copy what it ses on it


CTK | SWITCHING POWER SUPPLY
MODEL : LC-B350ATX

INPUT 115V-8A 60/50HZ
230V-4A

OUTPUT:350W


So, is it a deffinetly no no to the x800xt, thats what i want to be honest :-(
nathaN_ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 02:08 PM   #10
Grov
Disabled



Join Date: May 2004
Location: Uk

 
Well it will still rock, but it will be slowed down a fair bit with your CPU, though as higher res's and AA/AF you will notice the XTPE more.

Really up to you.

I think a X800Pro/6800GT and more memory would be a better upgrade.
Grov is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 03:01 PM Thread Starter   #11
nathaN_
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom(Wales)

 
Right.

I'm getting a 450/500 watt, and a x800XT from Connect3D for 330.


Also extra 512DDR ram, so hopefully i will have in the end



AMD 2800+ (2080)
Connect 3D X800xt
1024PC3200 400mhz+
40GB HD DRIVE YEA BABY!
450/500WATT PSU


Thats ok innit? Just the processor a LIL !
nathaN_ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 03:01 PM Thread Starter   #12
nathaN_
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom(Wales)

 
Cheers for the help lads, just could a expert say that spec will be ok? ta
nathaN_ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 03:45 PM   #13
Grov
Disabled



Join Date: May 2004
Location: Uk

 
Yeah, nice.

You could also try to overclock the CPU.
Grov is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 04:37 PM   #14
Spyd3r
Member

 
Spyd3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: BC, Canada

 
Yeah that's a nice setup there. Awesome card .

Enjoy.
Spyd3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-04, 09:53 PM   #15
alinosa
Member

 
alinosa's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX

10 Year Badge
 
i would definitely o/c the crap out of that CPU... as long as you have good cooling you should be good to go. and congrats on the new hardware, it should rock for you.

__________________
Intel Pentium4 640 @ 4000 MHz (250x16) stock volts
MCP650>BIX3>Cathar Storm G4>MCW60>DangerDen 5.25" Res, tygon 7/16"
pqi turbo ddr400
DFI Lanparty 875P-T
powerstream 520
eVGA 6800U@ 465/1100 on an Acer 22 inch WS LCD
Lian Li PC-G70B
HEAT
Lenovo T61p-> Desktop crushing machine.
alinosa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-04, 09:26 AM Thread Starter   #16
nathaN_
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom(Wales)

 
yeh cheers guys! i need some more fans any ways! i dont have a clue about overclocking, so ill have to learn ;]
nathaN_ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-01-04, 07:47 PM   #17
alinosa
Member

 
alinosa's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX

10 Year Badge
 
well you look you've got a good rig to start with.
best of luck.

__________________
Intel Pentium4 640 @ 4000 MHz (250x16) stock volts
MCP650>BIX3>Cathar Storm G4>MCW60>DangerDen 5.25" Res, tygon 7/16"
pqi turbo ddr400
DFI Lanparty 875P-T
powerstream 520
eVGA 6800U@ 465/1100 on an Acer 22 inch WS LCD
Lian Li PC-G70B
HEAT
Lenovo T61p-> Desktop crushing machine.
alinosa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-04, 10:07 AM Thread Starter   #18
nathaN_
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom(Wales)

 
When i mentioned about the PSU, i got a little mixed up!

I'm looking for a PSU that will handle (x800 amd 2800 1024ram) for around 30-50 if possibly.
nathaN_ is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?