Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

No Networking or Internet for w2k

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-04, 11:53 AM Thread Starter   #1
cuda70383
Member

 
cuda70383's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area

 
No Networking or Internet for w2k


hi:
i installed a new boot drive and decided to re-install my win2k & now i can't get networking or an internet connection to work. i've tried using the wizard & i've looked through the tcp/ip properties and have also looked at my xp machine for all of its connections. i've never had trouble before connecting to a network or internet with using this win2k.

i am not able to ping my router or ping the w2k machine from my xp machine.
the device manage says that the ethernet is working properly and when i plug the cable into the ethernet, it lights up. i'va also switched the cables from the router and my xp box connects to the internet just fine with either cable.

any suggestions??????
cuda70383 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-04, 01:07 PM   #2
Ascii2
Member



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
Is the ethernet device integrated on the motherboard?

A motherboard defect may exist.

If the ethernet device is a member on a PCI or ISA expansion slot, try moving the ethernet device to a different slot. Then view the TCP/IP properties again.

Also a defect may exit in an ethernet PCI or ISA card.
Ascii2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-04, 01:52 PM Thread Starter   #3
cuda70383
Member

 
cuda70383's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area

 
its an integrated ethernet....it was working before the re-formatting
cuda70383 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-04, 02:57 PM   #4
Ascii2
Member



Join Date: Nov 2004

 
I believe I misunderstood the post.

I have not had sufficient exposure to Windows XP's poor networking (I stay on Windows 2000).


To add clarification for other members:

The title is misleading.
The problem is occuring on a Windows XP (problem no longer seems strange) machine.
A Windows 2000 machine exists on a LAN.
Ascii2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-04, 04:56 PM   #5
Know Nuttin
Senior Member

 
Know Nuttin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
does running "ipconfig /renew" in a command prompt window get you a new IP address?

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.
Know Nuttin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-02-04, 09:08 PM Thread Starter   #6
cuda70383
Member

 
cuda70383's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area

 
no, i'm running dhcp so it is set up automatically

i can't ping my router even when i set the ip address on the router?????
cuda70383 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-03-04, 02:04 AM   #7
CrystalMethod
Senior Band Wagon Jumper

 
CrystalMethod's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Download McAfee "Stinger" and run it, just to see if it pulls up anything. i've a hunch that it'll detect 3 worms.

http://vil.nai.com/vil/stinger/

CrystalMethod is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-09-04, 12:29 PM Thread Starter   #8
cuda70383
Member

 
cuda70383's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area

 
finally had time to get back to troubleshooting......slipped in a pci networking card and voila......internet is back.

i will try the stinger anyway cm.


thanks all for your suggestions!!!!
cuda70383 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?